| | ||||||
| This is a discussion on Scam - Prius Price too good to be true within the Gen II Prius Main Forum forums, part of the Gen II (2004-2009) Toyota Prius Forums category; Originally Posted by Optimus Often, my favorite part about these types of scam ads is that the "seller" picks out ... |
Scam - Prius Price too good to be true
![]() |
| | LinkBack (7) | Thread Tools |
| | #21 |
| Advertise Here Join Date: Mar 2008 Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 2,048
My Car: 2008 Prius Model: Package: #6 Touring Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Friends: 25 | Sometimes even legit ads have some scam to them. I was reading in my local newspaper, and in the classifieds "Toyota Camry XLE '07 - 1 Owner, Sunroof, All Power, 15k Miles, 24/45 MPG, 6CD changer. $21,550" I find it hard to believe, seeing that the 4 cylinder manual at 21/31 and the hybrid at 33/34. I guess they are pretty good at hypermiling, but I bet whoever buys that car is going to be disappointed. |
| | |
| | #22 | |
| Senior Member Join Date: Mar 2008 Location: Minnesota
Posts: 136
My Car: 2002 Prius Model: Package: N/A Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Friends: 1 | Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #23 |
| Senior Member Join Date: Mar 2004 Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,758
My Car: 2005 Prius Model: Package: #6 Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Friends: 0 | So I strung one of these scammers along far enough to get him to send me an invoice. There wasn't even a fake escrow site involved, it was just a fake invoice, designed to look like it was sent from Ebay, with a request to wire money via Moneygram. Scammer is using a Gmail account, but it appears the invoice was sent from a residential RoadRunner customer in central Florida (probably Tampa) using Yahoo mail. received: from [72.188.252.133] by web1003.biz.mail.sp1.yahoo.com via HTTP; Wed, 11 Jun 2008 11:46:25 PDT I can't tell if the scammer actually is in Florida, or if the scammer is just using a zombie computer located in Florida to send email. PDF of fake invoice attached for your entertainment. Should I send the scammer an email telling them I just received word that the Tampa police obtained a warrant for RoadRunner's customer records, and that he should expect a visit from the authorities any minute now?
__________________ 2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid Black (hers) JBL Audio, Bluetooth, Moonroof, Alloy Wheels, Pink Fuzzy Dice on rearview mirror 2005 Driftwood Pearl Pkg #6 (mine) Katzkin Leather Interior Diamond Audio D661s Component Speakers JL Audio 8W3 Subwoofer JL Audio CleanSweep CL441dsp MTX Thunder 564 Amp 4x100 watts MTX Thunder 421D Amp 1x300 watts OEM Sirius Tuner 2004 Super White Pkg #9 (hers) - sold Last edited by priusenvy; 06-11-2008 at 03:36 PM. |
| | |
| | #24 |
| Whaddaya mean "senior" member? Join Date: May 2007 Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 433
My Car: 2005 Prius Model: Package: #2 Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Friends: 8 | Definitely--something like hey, man, I think I should tell you .... |
| | |
| | #25 |
| Senior Member Join Date: May 2007 Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,043
My Car: 2007 Prius Model: Package: #5 Thanks: 49
Thanked 49 Times in 34 Posts
Friends: 0 | "Motors-security-pay.com" is owned by "diane banti" and has a placeholder website hosted by Yahoo. The email also goes to Yahoo. www.escrow.com is the only official eBay escrow service, and they will only take a wire transfer to their bank account. |
| | |
| | #26 | |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jun 2007 Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 604
My Car: 2007 Prius Model: Package: #5 Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Friends: 0 | Quote:
HYBRIB / CARFAX. GEAT COND. XENON. KEYLESS NO RESERVE For Sale - DragTimes.com same mileage indicated but here it sells for $14,425 making the $5800 a bargoon ... or NOT!!! ===> poor scam In response to reporting scams like this here people are asked to report it to the local Police. Not sure what they can do about it especially if it originates from overseas. | |
| | |
| | #27 |
| Junior Member Join Date: Apr 2008 Location: Ruskin Fl
Posts: 141
My Car: 2008 Prius Model: Package: #6 Touring Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Friends: 0 | It was on Ebay with a winning sale (US $14,425.00): eBay Motors: Toyota : Prius (item 280228521977 end time May-26-08 08:54:50 PDT)& No telling if the guy on auto trade is the same guy selling the car but my guess would be he used the ebay Motors add to try to sell this car through auto traders. |
| | |
| | #28 |
| Junior Member Join Date: Mar 2007 Location: Phoenix
Posts: 7
My Car: 2007 Prius Model: Package: #6 Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Friends: 0 | Now we know where the VIN number and photos came from. Obviously, they use an old eBay sale to get all the info and then try to scam people with it. That's why the VIN number is valid and you can get a Carfax on it. |
| | |
![]() |
| Tags |
| con, fraud, scam |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Got a call about a car already - too good to be true? | bgbc | Gen II Prius Main Forum | 15 | 10-25-2006 07:02 PM |
| Invisible bumper guard, too good to be true? | seeh2o | Gen II Prius Modifications | 20 | 04-25-2006 01:24 AM |
| To good to be true? | scirocco | Gen II Prius Main Forum | 9 | 03-01-2006 05:02 PM |
| Too good to be true? | ggalanti | Sponsored Commercial Sales | 3 | 11-21-2004 01:33 AM |
| New car quote too good to be true? | dbullock | Gen II Prius Main Forum | 13 | 11-10-2004 04:19 AM |
| Bookmarks |
« Previous Thread
|
Next Thread »
| Thread Tools | |
| |













