1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

06 Prius not starting, low battery?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by cardana24, Oct 12, 2014.

1. cardana24

cardana24 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hey Guys, I have an 06 Prius and I just swapped the transmission out. I got the car to start while it was still on jack stands but after I lowered the car onto the floor I went to start it and it would not start. I am wondering if my battery could be the issue. I am new to prius so I am not sure how this is supposed to work. When I initially put the service plug back in and started the car the display was showing about half bars. When the car would not start I am only showing one bar on the battery display...I assume this is showing me the HV battery charge. So I went into service mode to check the 12volt battery, while in acc the car shows 11.7Volts, then when I switched the headlights on it dropped down to 10.8 volts. Is the 12 volt battery bad and stopping the car from starting? Can I put my jump box on the 12 volt battery and try to start the car?

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    probably. yes you can jump it, be careful not to cross the pos and neg. btw, after you put the service plug in, did you slide it and snap it? it's a bit complicated and can seem connected when it's not.

3. cardana24

cardana24 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I put my jump box on it and it showed voltage around 12 volts but it would still not start. I do have OBDII codes that the car will not let me erase.
    There are three codes and they all point towards "Drive Motor A position sensor circut" Where is this and would it stop the car from starting?

4. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base