1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2010 IV Nav unit traffic abilities

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by Simon Norton, Jan 14, 2014.

1. Simon Norton

Simon Norton New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I have an XM subscription for Navtraffic, and a menu option in my Nav unit to "avoid traffic" but it doesn't seem to do anything. I never see lines on my unit for traffic like I do on Google maps or Bing, and I've certainly run into unexpected traffic (Southern California is one big unexpected traffic jam ).

My manual has a lot of options that I can't find, so I suspect it was written for the technology package which I don't have. I asked the supposed sales "expert" at the local dealer, but he had never seen a 2010 up close before... too old, no doubt.

Does anyone with this model know what the traffic capabilities are and if I'm missing something?

Many thanks,
    Simon

2. Dark_matter_doesn't

Dark_matter_doesn't Prius Tinkerer

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Do you have the Nav manual?

3. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    The 2010 IV with navigation will have XMNavTraffic capabilities if you have a subscription.

Do you see a white icon with 3 cars in it near the top left on the screen? That indicates if it's receiving data. If you don't see it, it's not receiving data.

Also make sure every icon is showing. At the bottom of the screen, you should see an icon that looks like this: "<<OFF". If you an icon that looks like this "ON>>", then press the ON button to show all the icons.

4. Roland1555

Roland1555 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    I have a 2010 also with Nav. Traffic and it does work.

It will route you around problems if a reasonable alternate exists, but,..... you must always use the system for it to be of any use.