1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2015 Prius hids flickering

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by Brand1sh, Aug 1, 2015.

1. Brand1sh

Brand1sh New Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hey all,
    New Prius owner and forum member here!

I recently purchased this kit;
    ZEEZ HID Xenon Conversion Kit Complete System Slim Ballasts + Bulbs + Accessory from ebay
    (sorry for not linking, I'm a newb it wouldn't let me!), and installed it today. It came with a relay harness, but after reading here and watching some YouTube videos and reading comments there I decided to go the plug n play route.
    They look good, light up nice and bright as well. I mounted the ballasts in the fenders and zip tied the wires so they're not touching anything sharp or hot.
    The problem is they flicker, both sides but it seems like the right side does it more. Is the problem the bulbs or ballasts ? Or do I need the relay harness ? I know its not the highest quality equipment either but I know the difference between utter garbage and a decent product. This seems the latter but then again this is my first experience with hids.
    If I do need to install the relay harness I see how straightforward the installation is. However I cannot figure out where I would connect the red wire from the harness to a good voltage source.
    I searched the forums before posting but couldn't find all the answers I need !

Thanks in advance!!

-B

2. E46Prius

E46Prius Active Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    This is why don't go cheap on lights. These eBay kits with funny names are all junk. I've been doing lights for over 10 years (14 years actually) on all kinds of cars. If you want nice stuff, gotta go factory. There's some nice aftermarket stuff too out there but they cost more than generic.