Welcome to PriusChat

We'd love to have you join our community and participate in the conversation! Sign up for FREE today.

Sign Up

Allowing Access to Phone Contacts While Moving

Discussion in 'Gen III 2010+ Prius Audio and Electronics' started by DanCole42, Mar 26, 2012.

Social Buttons

  1. DanCole42

    DanCole42 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    I've seen lots of threads to allow use of the navigation inputs while moving, however I have a 2012 Prius-2 and therefore no navigation. I just want to be able to access my phone contacts and/or use the dialpad while I'm driving.

    Does anyone have any suggestions?

    Thanks!
  2. cproaudio

    cproaudio Speedlock Overrider

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,796
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Same speedlock override will work on the 2012 Prius two.
  3. Muzzman1

    Muzzman1 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    So Cal
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Five
  4. DanCole42

    DanCole42 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Does anyone know how to find an installer in the DC area?
  5. lumenrt7

    lumenrt7 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five


  6. cproaudio

    cproaudio Speedlock Overrider

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,796
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    No, he and I installed it.
  7. Hank101

    Hank101 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    SC
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Does anyone know what you loose when this is installed on a 2012 Prius II?

    Any other readout or function?
  8. cproaudio

    cproaudio Speedlock Overrider

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,796
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V


    No dealer will install this. Toyota will not disable seatbelt beep. What makes you think they will install this? That's like the last thing they would do.


    You don't loose anything when it's off. Everything is factory. Most touch screen buttons become grayed out once you pass 5MPH. You actually gain working touch screen buttons when it's on. All the grayed out buttons become active and usable. The only thing I'm not sure about is how it'll affect all the information in the "CAR" I think all the information in "CAR" are just the display. I don't think the headunit does any mileage calculations. Besides, I don't recommend leaving the override switch on when not using, not even in units without navigation.
  9. ProximalSuns

    ProximalSuns Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    PNW
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three


    If you have voice recognition on the wheel, that works while the car is moving which is the idea, use voice while moving vs. looking down at the screen and running over a kid or...worse...rear ending me.

    Texting while driving (fooling with the screen with contacts is the same as texting) is proven to be dangerous thing to do.
Similar Threads: Allowing Access
Forum Title Date
Gen III 2010+ Prius Audio and Electronics Prius model 2 not allowing music browsing Aug 11, 2013
Gen III 2010+ Prius Main Forum Allowing Someone to Drive your Baby Oct 20, 2012
Toyota Prius Plug-in Bill allowing PIP in pay car-pool lanes Apr 26, 2012
Knowledge Base Articles Discussion electronic key not unlocking doors or allowing car to start Aug 4, 2011
Gen III 2010+ Prius Technical Discussion Lexus CT200h and Power Mode - allowing higher voltage to MG2? Feb 17, 2011