1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT) / Hybrid Tax Credit Change

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by lee, May 16, 2006.

1. lee

lee New Member

I just read the following information about the new tax legislation Bush is about to sign (excerpt from CNNMoney.com: How the tax bill affects you):
    I'm not an expert, but I read this to mean that the Hybrid Vehicle tax credit will, after all, be useful to those taxpayers that are subject to AMT.

If it's true, that's a bit of a bummer for me. I rushed to buy at the end of 2005 because I read that I would not be able to use the 2006 tax credit, but was able to use the much smaller 2005 clean fuel tax deduction.

Assuming I'm reading this correctly, this is GREAT news for those of you who bought in 2006, but were told that you wouldn't qualify for some or all of the tax credit because you pay AMT.

2. Kiloran

Kiloran New Member

Great. Another tax cut for the wealthy.

3. dipper

dipper Senior Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Kiloran @ May 16 2006, 10:18 AM) [snapback]256340[/snapback]</div>
    Talk to the people paying AMT and still having to work like a horse to support their family.

In 10 years, everyone not under poverty line will have to pay AMT... :lol:

4. Kiloran

Kiloran New Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(dipper @ May 16 2006, 01:27 PM) [snapback]256343[/snapback]</div>
    The law is written to allow the non-refundable tax credits for everybody, not just working folk recently affected by the fact that the AMT is not indexed for inflation.
    The vast majority of the benefit of this aspect of the tax cut will be enjoyed by the wealthy (again).

5. Amyshubby

Amyshubby 2017 Prius Prime Advanced

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Kiloran @ May 16 2006, 01:34 PM) [snapback]256348[/snapback]</div>