1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Anyone done solar - feedback?

Discussion in 'Environmental Discussion' started by Goin2drt, Aug 9, 2014.

1. Goin2drt

Goin2drt Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Hope this is the correct forum, I am sure if not it will get moved so I apologize in advance.

Has anyone done solar in particular in California and more specific SoCal? I think I am going to check it out. None of my friends or relatives have done it so I thought I would ask my Prius friends.

I interviewed Solar City so far. We have Verengo coming today and I thought I would interview one more.

Anyone have good, bad or ugly on doing solar? Experience with any of those companies? Watch outs or things I should be asking?

I am new to all this so any feedback sure would be awesome.

2. Easy Rider 2

Easy Rider 2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Just as with most "sales" people, they will probably make "payback" estimates that are a little more optimistic than reality.

3. macman408

macman408 Electron Guidance Counselor

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Did you end up getting solar?

We ended up going with SolarCity for ours after getting quotes from them and 2 other companies. They installed it in December, and we got our Permission To Operate from the utility about a week ago. It's a pretty small system (the photo is with 7/8 panels installed), but should be enough to cover 100% of our usage - both according to their salesman, and the PVWatts calculator from the NREL. We don't use much electricity - basically any appliance that can be gas is gas in our house (clothes dryer, oven/range, water heater, furnace). We also mostly use LED lighting, and keep our computers asleep when they're not being used.