1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Are PiP Extended Warranties Worth It?

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by OilFreedom, Mar 14, 2012.

1. OilFreedom

OilFreedom New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I am new to Planet Prius, and our PiP will be arriving soon. Many of you have had one or more Prii over the years. Your thoughts and recommendations on getting any kind of extended warranty for the PiP would be greatly appreciated. I found some older threads on extended warranties, but none for the PiP. Many more people will be taking delivery on their PiP soon, so I hope this info will be helpful to others too. A few questions come to mind...

Do you think an extended warranty would be worth it for the PiP given your service, reliability, and warranty experience with other Prius models?

If so, which warranty would you recommend?

Are warranties from the dealer / Toyota better than offerings from 3rd parties?

What kind of pricing should I negotiate?

Anything else I should be asking on warranties?

Thanks in advance!

2. richard schumacher

richard schumacher shortbus driver

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    No. Save your money. Extended warranties are insurance policies priced to make a profit for the seller, not for the buyer. Do you get more "peace of mind" from cash in your wallet, or cash in a dealer's wallet?

1 person likes this.
  3. jbrad4

jbrad4 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    1 person likes this.
  4. calbear

calbear Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    N/A
    Would make sense to wait to see if there are any PiP-specific issues (figuring any other issues would have already been found with the 2010 Priuses). There's a small chance of the price going up in three years, but off-set that with having to pay up front if you buy it now.