1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Battery discharge by headlights when vehicle stopped

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Junglegym, Aug 26, 2014.

1. Junglegym

Junglegym New Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm new to the Prius, so please forgive this very basic question. This evening, long after sundown, I found myself stuck on an unmoving expressway with no sign of traffic starting up again (the radio reported a vehicle fire ahead, all lanes blocked). Time dragged on, and I started worrying about the possibility of the headlights draining the 12V battery , assuming that they do indeed run off the 12V battery. In a conventional car this wouldn't have been a problem because the idling engine would have maintained enough battery charge, but of course here the ICE wasn't running. So I turned off the power button to shut down the lights (it's a Canadian car, so there's no way of turning off the headlights with the power button on). That was safe in this particular situation because there were plenty of stopped vehicles behind me. It definitely would not have been safe if mine had been the last vehicle in the lineup.

Was I worrying unnecessarily? In other words, would the ICE have started up if the system had sensed that the 12V battery was getting too low?

2. xliderider

xliderider Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Yes, the ICE cycles on and off automatically to maintain the high voltage traction battery, which in turn maintains the 12v auxiliary battery.

People have even camped/slept in the Prius overnight with the Prius in Park/Ready and the AC on. ;)

SCH-I535

#2 xliderider, Aug 26, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2014
  3. ftl

ftl Explicator

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three