1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Being killed for your Smart Phone...One reason NOT to have the latest version...

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by Mike500, Jan 23, 2014.

1. Mike500

Mike500 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
  2. GrumpyCabbie

GrumpyCabbie Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Most phone companies are partly to blame in that they allow the phone to be used elsewhere. They know the internal phone number. If I report it stolen, then it should be blocked or even switched off by the manufacturer.

As it is, they know you'll get a new one on your insurance and the manufacturer sells another phone.

But phone theft has gone on for years. I was always having scammers trying to 'obtain' my mobile from me when I was a taxi driver.

Personally, I'm very tempted to go back to a basic phone after my experience of my android phone. Sure it does all these weird and wonderful things, but it also eats data and being google it continuously tries to get me to use their services, links facebook with contacts etc. I don't want or like that. I don't like that these undeleteable google items are always communicating with HQ and using my data allowance. I believe Apple is the same.

My gf likes her old Blackberry and refuses to get a new touch screen one and I might just get a simple Nokia next time. At least the old phones had a week of standby and picked up a signal in places my smart phone just doesn't.

3. MarcSmith

MarcSmith Active Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Around here, if you wear Uggs or Northface, you take you life in your hands...

4. FL_Prius_Driver

FL_Prius_Driver Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Interesting article, but the title is classically misleading by reversing cause and effect....to gather more attention.