1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Best source for fuses (and other parts) for Prius v (lowercase v)?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by SoCal_Priusv, Apr 28, 2015.

1. SoCal_Priusv

SoCal_Priusv New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Hello! I am new to PriusChat and I would like to learn where to buy fuses for my 2012 Prius v (lowercas v for the Prius v wagon) and how to change them myself.

I bought a used 2012 Prius v last year. I use the front console 12V outlet to charge my phones, but when I have used a 12V air pump or a vacuum, the fuse has blown.

The dealer told me the outlet is not made for anything but small devices, but could not/would not tell me what is the max specified amp/rating the 12V outlet on the left in the front console can handle.

Where is the best place online to buy fuses and will it be easy enough for someone with little or no experience working on cars to change a fuse? A fuse seems like something I should be able to do on my own. (I Hope.)
    I found diagrams for Prius fuse locations, but have not tried to change one yet.

Thank you in advance!

2. LostViet408

LostViet408 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    You can buy the fuse at any auto store, there should also be a fuse puller in the engine compartment fuse box for you to use to pull out the fuses with ease. The fuse you blown is probably on the driver kick panel as its where all your accessorie fuses are located. I hope that helps.

SoCal_Priusv likes this.
  3. qdllc

qdllc Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    As far as "max" goes, I'm not sure there is one beyond the max any one standard circuit has.

For example, if you have "mini blade" 15A fuses in the fuse block, any one circuit COULD take a 15A fuse with no damage to the wiring.