1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

1. silfey

silfey New Member

Hello. I am new to this, so please forgive me if i sound stupid. My prius is at 45,000 and is a 2005 model. When I brought it in last they said I still had time on the brakes but I am getting nervous about burning thru the pads. I called a couple of dealerships about the cost and they were about $265.00 for a pair. Another dealership said that that it would be only $159 per pair if I didnt want to do the rotors. Two questions: (1) should i have the rotors done, if so what does that usuallly mean? replaced or resurfaced? (2) should I go to a dealership to do this or a local garage. I am more inlcined to go to the dealership because of the complexity of the car. Thank you in advance for your assitance.

2. etyler88

etyler88 etyler88

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    The regenerative braking of the Prius prevents a majority of the wear on the traditional brakes on your Prius. Somewhere on Priuschat a guy posted a picture of his brakes pads after 90,000 miles and there was no visible wear. So unless you drive in mountains or some other brake heavy environment you should not need any brake work for a long time. Ask to see the pads and rotors before agreeing to have work done. Ask to see new pads if you don't know what new pads would look like to compare. You should not need new rotors unless the pads wore all the way through to metal on metal braking, it would sound bad when you brake. Brakes are easy even on the Prius, any shop can do them so call around for estimates if you do actually need them. If dealer is close in price OEM parts are best.

3. bwilson4web

bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    Prime Plus