1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Brakes making a Squaking noise when it comes to a stop

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by roger32, Mar 11, 2014.

1. roger32

roger32 New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three

I am new to the pruis forum and i have just purchase a used one 2 weeks ago. I bought it from a local dealer (Longo Toyota). After I got the car home for a day it started to make noises when i brake. If the brake pedal is depress about half way it will make a squaking noise when it comes to a stop. So i bought the car back in to the dealer and all they did was flush the system and reboted the computer. They said this is normal for some pruis to make a noise when the vechile comes to a stop and it should not be a safety concern. Can someone please chime in ...

2. retired4999

retired4999 Prius driver since 2005

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Take to a different dealer for second option!

3. roger32

roger32 New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    thats what i am thinking but i want to know if i am the only one that is having this problem

4. xliderider

xliderider Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Are the brake rotors rusty? It is common for the Prius brake rotor discs to develop a thin layer of rust when they get wet and sit for a while. Then they can squeal when the brakes are applied.

SCH-I535

5. roger32

roger32 New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    no they werent rusty. This has been an on going issue for the last 2 weeks and i am hoping that it not somthing bad. Also i notice the breaking distant in the pruis is a lot fruther compare to other cars.

6. GrumpyCabbie

GrumpyCabbie Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III