1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

buy 2004 prius with hymotion?

Discussion in 'Prius PHEV Plug-In Modifications' started by bevert, Jun 27, 2010.

1. bevert

bevert New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm a total newbie about Prii. I'm looking at a 2004 prius with Hymotion installed - not sure which model, I can find out. The dealer wants $12,000 US. It has 58K miles on it, looks in good shape. I drove it for 20 minutes and the monitor said I got 50.3 mpg. The dealer said he had not charged the Hymotion, but would for the next test drive. I noticed that the tires were more worn on the outside than the inside. Car rode perfectly.

Also - major issue - this car is a salvage from Rhode Island. They had huge rains a few months back. The dealer has a very good reputation around here so I trust him as to how far the water came up, but it obviously would kill the resale value when/if I sell. Plus I won't be able to get normal financing, and I'm not sure about insurance.

I understand I should find out if the suspension has been beefed up when the Hymotion was installed. Anything else I should be asking?

2. 2k1Toaster

2k1Toaster Brand New Prius Batteries

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Ask when the Hymotion was installed, to see how many miles are on the battery. If the car was not salvaged, it would be a great deal.

Problem is the salvage title. Especially if it is water salvaged. Water + electronics = bad mojo.

3. firepa63

firepa63 Former Prius Owner

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Stay away from a salvaged car...!!!

4. bevert

bevert New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A