Can Smart Keys be Reprogramed?

Discussion in 'Gen III 2010+ Prius Technical Discussion' started by JohnCleary, Mar 9, 2012.

  1. JohnCleary

    JohnCleary Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    15
    0
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I purchased a smart key on ebay and took it to a dealership today, well $55 later and they could not program it. Said "possible already programmed". Is this true or can a smart key from one car be programmed to another car?

    John
     
  2. Royal5280

    Royal5280 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    49
    1
    Dallas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Good Question. I would have thought there is a way to wipe it clean and reporgram. Can you wife it clean yourself? I just ordered one, and had it programed. $250 later.....
    (It does include the AC option, hopefully that was programmed correctly).
     
  3. mad-dog-one

    mad-dog-one Prius Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    1,147
    365
    Whereabouts Unknown
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    They can be reprogrammed, but you will need to find someone with thevrightvequipment and know how.
     
  4. h00ktern

    h00ktern Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    134
    39
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Absolutely correct. I know because I have a 2011, the means to do it, and successfully did it. If you were nearby, I would do it for you. :juggle:

    Your dealer failed because they did not "Reset" the SKS module in Techstream (which requires a new seed value to be entered.) If you can convince them to try, they will succeed also.

    I am beating a dead horse, but because of what you just experienced, and what others have gone through, I have concluded that Toyota is not in control, and dealers are just making easy money off of the owners who have no other (apparent) options. I look to the $55 charge they stuck you with as nearly theft. You paid, they failed, and you got nothing for your money. It's a shame, really.

    Edit: I need to qualify something - if you didn't have the correct remote model, then I can't rightly say they ripped you off - however, in that case, they should have known it was the wrong model remote. Look on the back and see if it has the following - "FCC ID: HYQ14ACX", "IC: 1551A-14ACX", "RLVDE1408-0265" and "DENSO 14ACX". If it does, and it is not broken, then I stick to my guns.
     
    JimY4 likes this.
  5. Royal5280

    Royal5280 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    49
    1
    Dallas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Thanks for the research Hook. Would you be able to wipe it for him so he can take it back in and they can do what they already charged him for?
     
  6. qbee42

    qbee42 My other car is a boat

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    18,044
    2,965
    Northern Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    No. You don't "wipe it clean" - the car is programmed to the fob, not the other way around. After you do a seed reset on the ECU, you have a very limited amount of time to add fobs. This is done for security reasons.

    Tom
     
  7. h00ktern

    h00ktern Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    134
    39
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Tom's correct. I wish I could; it would be a whole lot less stressful for the owners. The best I can offer right now is to assist those who are near enough by me to use my stuff.

    I've been considering another option to address this, but need to check out a few things before I even mention it.
     
  8. JohnCleary

    JohnCleary Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    15
    0
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    ***UPDATE***

    First of all thanks for your responses.
    The answer is YES, previously programmed Smart Keys can be reprogrammed. I took my prius to Pop-A-Lock in Riverside (951)992-1096, Art was able to reset the car to accept the used fob. Art told me he had a lot of success with GenIII fob's
     
  9. Mike500

    Mike500 Interessen-Gemeinschaft Prius

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    2,800
    759
    Upstate, SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Sounds much like programming a Genie garage door owner. The opener is programmed to accept the remotes. There is a short time frame for this to be done, once the program button is pushed.
     
  10. h00ktern

    h00ktern Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    134
    39
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Yes, it is, once you're able to 'push the button'. Toyota made that a real PITA, and a somewhat expensive proposition. But it can be done, thankfully.
     
  11. Rebound

    Rebound Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    1,921
    584
    SF Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I bought new fobs for my Honda, and it was an easy do-it-yourself deal to get the car to accept them.
     
  12. mad-dog-one

    mad-dog-one Prius Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    1,147
    365
    Whereabouts Unknown
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I don't know where you are in SoCal, but Pop-a-lock in Riverside programmed both of my Gen 3 Prii to accept previously use smartkeys.
     
  13. cglz4au

    cglz4au New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    4
    3
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Don't mean to resurrect an older thread but I can also confirm that used Ebay keys can easily be programmed to your vehicle with the right equipment and the right locksmith. I just had it done earlier today in Atlanta. The locksmith came highly recommended by several others in the area. It took him less than 30 min to reset the SKS module, sync both of my keys and laser cut my spare. If any of you would like his info, please feel free to PM me. The guy really knows his stuff. His prices are also very reasonable. He even replaced my SK's battery for free :).
     
    faridsk and mbkga like this.
  14. mbkga

    mbkga New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    2
    0
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I'd like that information
     
  15. colbertfan1

    colbertfan1 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    37
    8
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I had an old key fob from my wrecked Prius. They cut a new key and synced it to my new Prius for $55.
     
  16. mbkga

    mbkga New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    2
    0
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    In Atlanta - ToyoTechs (770) 457-9991

    Successfully reprogrammed a Camry smart key I purchased on Ebay for $40.
     
  17. faridsk

    faridsk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    1
    0
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Can U please give me the name and number?
     
  18. Dravor

    Dravor Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    62
    15
    Ashburn, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    If the battery dies on the FOB does it need to be reprogrammed?

    Thanks!
     
  19. xliderider

    xliderider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    3,841
    810
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    No, it does not need to be reprogrammed.

    Sent from my SCH-I535
     
  20. ovni

    ovni Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    210
    75
    El Sobrante, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Used keys can be programmed. I use the same equipment the dealer uses and program used keys almost on a daily basis. The dealer tells people it doesn't work to make the customer buy a NEW key from them. More money!!
     
    alejandrolevin likes this.