1. Offline

    JohnCleary Junior Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I purchased a smart key on ebay and took it to a dealership today, well $55 later and they could not program it. Said "possible already programmed". Is this true or can a smart key from one car be programmed to another car?

    John
  2. Offline

    Royal5280 New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dallas
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Good Question. I would have thought there is a way to wipe it clean and reporgram. Can you wife it clean yourself? I just ordered one, and had it programed. $250 later.....
    (It does include the AC option, hopefully that was programmed correctly).
  3. Offline

    mad-dog-one Prius Enthusiast

    Member Since:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Posts:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Whereabouts Unknown
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    They can be reprogrammed, but you will need to find someone with thevrightvequipment and know how.
  4. Offline

    h00ktern Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Florida
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Absolutely correct. I know because I have a 2011, the means to do it, and successfully did it. If you were nearby, I would do it for you. :juggle:

    Your dealer failed because they did not "Reset" the SKS module in Techstream (which requires a new seed value to be entered.) If you can convince them to try, they will succeed also.

    I am beating a dead horse, but because of what you just experienced, and what others have gone through, I have concluded that Toyota is not in control, and dealers are just making easy money off of the owners who have no other (apparent) options. I look to the $55 charge they stuck you with as nearly theft. You paid, they failed, and you got nothing for your money. It's a shame, really.

    Edit: I need to qualify something - if you didn't have the correct remote model, then I can't rightly say they ripped you off - however, in that case, they should have known it was the wrong model remote. Look on the back and see if it has the following - "FCC ID: HYQ14ACX", "IC: 1551A-14ACX", "RLVDE1408-0265" and "DENSO 14ACX". If it does, and it is not broken, then I stick to my guns.
    JimY4 likes this.
  5. Offline

    Royal5280 New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dallas
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Thanks for the research Hook. Would you be able to wipe it for him so he can take it back in and they can do what they already charged him for?
  6. Offline

    qbee42 My other car is a boat

    Member Since:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    18,041
    Likes Received:
    2,948
    Location:
    Northern Michigan
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2006 Prius
    No. You don't "wipe it clean" - the car is programmed to the fob, not the other way around. After you do a seed reset on the ECU, you have a very limited amount of time to add fobs. This is done for security reasons.

    Tom
  7. Offline

    h00ktern Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Florida
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Tom's correct. I wish I could; it would be a whole lot less stressful for the owners. The best I can offer right now is to assist those who are near enough by me to use my stuff.

    I've been considering another option to address this, but need to check out a few things before I even mention it.
  8. Offline

    JohnCleary Junior Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    ***UPDATE***

    First of all thanks for your responses.
    The answer is YES, previously programmed Smart Keys can be reprogrammed. I took my prius to Pop-A-Lock in Riverside (951)992-1096, Art was able to reset the car to accept the used fob. Art told me he had a lot of success with GenIII fob's
  9. Offline

    Mike500 Interessen-Gemeinschaft Prius

    Member Since:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Posts:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    463
    Location:
    Upstate, SC
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Sounds much like programming a Genie garage door owner. The opener is programmed to accept the remotes. There is a short time frame for this to be done, once the program button is pushed.
  10. Offline

    h00ktern Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Florida
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Yes, it is, once you're able to 'push the button'. Toyota made that a real PITA, and a somewhat expensive proposition. But it can be done, thankfully.
  11. Offline

    Rebound Senior Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    529
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, California
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I bought new fobs for my Honda, and it was an easy do-it-yourself deal to get the car to accept them.
  12. Offline

    mad-dog-one Prius Enthusiast

    Member Since:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Posts:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Whereabouts Unknown
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I don't know where you are in SoCal, but Pop-a-lock in Riverside programmed both of my Gen 3 Prii to accept previously use smartkeys.
  13. Offline

    cglz4au New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Alabama
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Don't mean to resurrect an older thread but I can also confirm that used Ebay keys can easily be programmed to your vehicle with the right equipment and the right locksmith. I just had it done earlier today in Atlanta. The locksmith came highly recommended by several others in the area. It took him less than 30 min to reset the SKS module, sync both of my keys and laser cut my spare. If any of you would like his info, please feel free to PM me. The guy really knows his stuff. His prices are also very reasonable. He even replaced my SK's battery for free :).
    faridsk and mbkga like this.
  14. Offline

    mbkga New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your Vehicle Year:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I'd like that information
  15. Offline

    colbertfan1 Junior Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I had an old key fob from my wrecked Prius. They cut a new key and synced it to my new Prius for $55.
  16. Offline

    mbkga New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your Vehicle Year:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    In Atlanta - ToyoTechs (770) 457-9991

    Successfully reprogrammed a Camry smart key I purchased on Ebay for $40.
  17. Offline

    faridsk New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your Vehicle Year:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Can U please give me the name and number?
  18. Offline

    Dravor Junior Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Posts:
    62
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Ashburn, Virginia
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    If the battery dies on the FOB does it need to be reprogrammed?

    Thanks!
  19. Online

    xliderider Senior Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,602
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    No, it does not need to be reprogrammed.

    Sent from my SCH-I535
  20. Offline

    ovni Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    El Sobrante, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Used keys can be programmed. I use the same equipment the dealer uses and program used keys almost on a daily basis. The dealer tells people it doesn't work to make the customer buy a NEW key from them. More money!!
    alejandrolevin likes this.

Share This Page