1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Cleaning Factory Carpet Mats? Cleaning interior?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by whitespider, Jul 7, 2007.

1. whitespider

whitespider Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Hello. I've had my prius 2 weeks now, almost to the hour, and i'm setting up to clean out my factory carpet mats, since htye have a little dirt and particles of grass and such over them (especially the driver's side. I remember reading somewhere that you can just machine wash them, is this true? I'm going to vaccum them inside the house and am considering some low water soap over them, or picking up (i'm a new driver and not a home owner so I don't know where to find this stuff) some carpet shampoo, I guess, instead.

Anyways, what do you all recommend for cleaning these out?

And while on that, what do you all recommend for cleaning out the carpet in the car in general? Gas stations around here have like a coin opperated vaccum thing that I geuss I could use, but how about the dirt spots from mud and such? I would think expensive steaming is much.. what do you all do? What do you recommend? The carpet around my gas pedal looks a liiiittle dirty and i'd like to take care of it now while I just got the car instead of just letting it be till it looks real nasty... better to learn early. Haha.

So, what do you all suggest?

And thank you, Priuschat. I have been a part of this community for a few months now and the help I have gotten here is better than I have for any fourm for any otehr product I have bought or hobby I have had. Best.Fourm.Ever.

2. Bill Merchant

Bill Merchant absit invidia

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Well, since every body is chiming in...

I really like the 303 Products. The fabric cleaner and guard work well, though I like the Cleaner and Spot Remover for Carpet/Upholstery better for foot dirt near the pedals and on the mats.