Constant blinking tire pressure warning

Discussion in 'Gen III Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by kormaster, May 6, 2012.

  1. kormaster

    kormaster Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    90
    1
    Playa Vista
    I have 2011 Prius Pck II.
    Racked up about 22k miles now is socal. Replacedone tire due to flat. From week 3, Ive had blinking tire pressure warnin.. then it stays lit then goes away.

    Dealer said they will reset and say the sensors are just sensitive. Well.. 22k miles of annoying problems continues to blink then stays lit, then goes away. ]

    I think it is defected.. they dont want to admit it and replace for me.
     
  2. jdcollins5

    jdcollins5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    4,726
    1,004
    Wilmington, NC
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Have you adjusted your tire pressure to where you want it and then reset the TPMS switch under the steering wheel?

    If not, try that. The TPMS reset switch is at the base of the steering wheel on the right hand side just about where your right knee will rest. I have to get beside the car on my knees to see mine. It is slightly recessed.

    This resets the TPMS system to your current tire pressure. When the pressure in a single tire falls below about 80% it should give you the warning.

    If after resetting and you still have the alarm the dealer needs to figure out which sensor is faulty and replace it.
     
  3. kormaster

    kormaster Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    90
    1
    Playa Vista
    I will try this. 2011 has reset button by my right knee? I didnt know:rolleyes:


     
  4. macman408

    macman408 Electron Guidance Counselor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    1,073
    290
    California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Per the manual "When the light comes on after blinking for 1 minute: Malfunction in the tire pressure warning system. Have the system checked by your Toyota dealer."

    No ifs, ands, or buts; make them do their job.

    If the light just comes on solid, then it's sensing low pressure (whether correctly adjusted or not).
     
  5. wick1ert

    wick1ert Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    1,316
    180
    Delawhere
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    ^^ What he said. I wonder if the sensor didn't get damaged with the flat tire. They should hook up to TechStream and see what's going on. Usually, once your situation arises, the "reset" button doesn't do anything from what I could see.
     
  6. The Critic

    The Critic Resident Critic

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    2,218
    457
    Walnut Creek, CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    It is likely that one of the sensors was damaged when the tires were dismounted. This is not uncommon.
     
  7. kormaster

    kormaster Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    90
    1
    Playa Vista
    You know this happened even before I got a flat. They have all the records... No dealer wants to "replace" the sensors. No one believes me THey just keep resetting it and tells me that they "recalibrated it" :confused:
     
  8. pjksr02

    pjksr02 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    258
    32
    Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    If you want to know what the error is, you can, without Techstream. Follow the procedure described on page CH-76 of the document below, then count the "blink pairs" (I've done it, and my Prius didn't blow up).

    http://www-rohan.sdsu.edu/~nash/TCH/TPMS.pdf

    My first guess would be a damaged sensor.
     
  9. wick1ert

    wick1ert Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    1,316
    180
    Delawhere
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I'd go in and demand to speak with the service manager. Politely tell him, you've been in more than once for this same issue, and whatever they keep doing isn't fixing the problem. You want someone to get to the root of the problem, and figure out which sensor is causing the problem. If that doesn't work, call the toyota hotline, and log your case with them, too.

    I'd gladly hook it up if you live near by, and see what the DTC is. I'm still guessing a faulty/damaged sensor. It could just be that that particular sensor had a low/bad battery from the factory.
     
  10. kormaster

    kormaster Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    90
    1
    Playa Vista
    Thank you for the reply. I made a "case" over the phone at the dealer and they told me bring the car in. I told them "resetting" is not acceptable at this time or "clearing out" the codes. I will demand new sensors and stop d*cking me around
     
  11. jdcollins5

    jdcollins5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    4,726
    1,004
    Wilmington, NC
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Do not let them try replacing one sensor at a time with a possibility of having to make 4 trips. One guy on here demanded if they could not identify which sensor was defective to change all four and then they could figure out which one was defective.