1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Cylinder number 4 and fuel bank 1 locations?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Jason Ohler, Aug 7, 2014.

1. Jason Ohler

Jason Ohler New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Ok, I'm new to this so here goes. having some idling issues. Pulled codes P0172 and P0304. Basically running rich on fuel bank 1 and misfire on cylinder number 4. My question is what is the locations of each...? From what I have read number 4 cylinder is closest to the drivers side and fuel bank 1 is on the passengers side. I have changed the MAF, plugs and checked the ignition coils. All looks to be good. I am guessing possibly fuel injector?

2. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    You are right that cylinder 4 is closest to the driver's side.

DTC P0172 means that the air/fuel ratio is too rich. The reference to bank 1, sensor 1 simply means that the issue can be with the upstream air/fuel ratio sensor. There is only one bank. Some cars have dual exhaust and such vehicles would have a bank 1 and a bank 2.

What did the old spark plug in cylinder 4 look like and how did it compare to the other three plugs?

If cylinder 4 showed a very dark plug, that would be an indication of an overly rich fuel mixture and the fuel injector would be a reasonable candidate to suspect.

3. valde3

valde3 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I think that the misfire can cause rich running code. By letting unburned fuel into exhaust. So fault may also be with ignition system. Easiest check would be to swap ignition coil from cylinder 4 with ignition coil of another cylinder. If misfire moves with coil then coil is faulty. If it doesn’t then problem can be with fuel system, rest of ignition system, or mechanical.

4. Jason Ohler

Jason Ohler New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model: