1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Desperate! Transmission problem?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Kelsey, Nov 6, 2014.

1. Kelsey

Kelsey New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello all,

I realize I should search before posting, but I've spent hours on the internet and haven't found anything that answers my question, so please bear with me.

I recently (yesterday, actually) purchased a 2004 Prius with 134k. It seemed fine while test-driving, but a little resistant to accelerate. (Especially when taking a turn after being stopped.) I read up on this and found the conclusion that it's common in Priuses. The check engine light was on, but I had a friend who works on my cars check it out and he stated that it looked fine to him and he couldn't find anything wrong with it. (I'm a poor college student, I can't afford to be picky with an hour commute to and from school every day.) Fast-forward to last night, when I'm driving it directly from the dealership to my college campus. Screen shows "Problem" when I turn it on. After getting off the highway and stopping at a red light, when it turned green and I attempted to go, my car refused to go over 15mph. Long story short, terrifying. I put the pedal to the floor and it sounded like it wanted to go but wasn't going anywhere. Battery level was fine at this time. Pulled over, turned the car off, started it back up, ran fine. Did it one more time after that, same deal. Going up a hill, speed starts falling from 40 and car becomes very sluggish. Had no problems out of it all day today, until I went down a hill, stopped, and had to turn across two lanes at which point it decided not to go above 20. Pulled over, turned it off, turned it back on, no problems.