1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Driving style question - fast or slow starts?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by tb, May 21, 2004.

1. tb

tb New Member

I know this has been discussed on this forum before, but I haven't seen anything really conclusive...

Is it better to do fast starts and get the car up to speed, then coast?
    or
    Is it better to do a slow start, as one would with a regular car?

I believe it's in John1701a's PDF that mentions something about the Prius being more efficient at high RPMs, but then I see many posts around here where people talk about not doing "jackrabbit" starts, and keep the engine at a low RPM.

Has anybody done a compairison of the styles?

cheers,
    tb

2. bruceha_2000

bruceha_2000 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I have no definitive knowledge so others will have better information but I think you can figure it out pretty well with basic physics.
    It takes more power to get a stationary object moving than to keep it moving. Thus, it depends on where you are driving. If it is fairly level and 35 mph without a lot of stops, you can drive for some distance in stealth mode. If you drain the traction battery creeping off the line, the ICE will have to come on to charge it sooner. If, instead, you go off the line at a normal pace, the ICE will run to get you to 35 but you can use stealth from there for a longer distance because the battery has more capacity.
    On the other hand, if you know you will be doing highway speeds pretty soon, the ICE will be running anyway and recharge the traction battery. This is why some people want the EV button. They know that the short term discharge will be replaced before it gets too low whereas the computer doesn't.