1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Energy Saver A/S 68T impressions

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by Fubar1764, Nov 12, 2013.

1. Fubar1764

Fubar1764 Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Alrighty. I just ordered a set of Energy Saver A/S 68T. They should arrive Friday or Saturday. I'll be posting my impression and improvements over the Pirelli P4.

Here are some lumps of salt that should go with this thread:
    1) I don't hypermile.
    2) I'm a pretty aggressive driver. Other cars are '91 Lotus Elan and '05 Lotus Elise. My '08 Prius (IV) replaced a lost '99 BMW E39 wagon 5spd. You get the picture.

My impressions of the P4. LOUD. For a tire which handles not so well, it's awfully loud. I've never made the tires howl because the body roll of the Prius stops me from getting that far. . .or maybe the road noise is just louder than the howling. ;)
    Last year, I drove the Prius 37k miles. Best calculated tank was 49 (my attempt at hypermiling) and the worst was 39.5 (5F-45F) NM/Colorado winter on holiday. Average is 43. I have tire pressures at 46/42 cold. And since I live in Houston, TX, the a/c is on (usually LO) 80% of the year. I generally check the tire pressures every 3-4 tanks. I'm getting approximately 440mi/tank.

What I think I can expect from the ES A/S? I think fuel economy will go up. I think the road noise will improve dramatically (how could it get any worse?!). Road holding and comfort will probably go up as well.

As for cost, Discount price matched Costco at $572 walk-out. They claim their warranty is the same as Costco's road hazard, so I didn't get the "certificates."

2. dorunron

dorunron Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three