1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Engine Block Heater

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Fuel Economy' started by spsmith22, Dec 14, 2012.

1. spsmith22

spsmith22 New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Long time lurker here...Got a quick question...

I'm about to install a new engine block heater on my 2010 tomorrow. I've looked up threads about putting it in and seen two types of installation and for both efforts, people seemed to place its level of difficulty as replacing a transmission.

I'm not a car novice, but I'm not an expert mechanic. I do my own maintenance and will fix just about anything on my own. I'm wondering if the people who are explaining the installation of an EBH are the same people who need a manual to replace wiper fluid or if it's truly that difficult to install an engine block heater.

I was planning on getting the Prius on ramps, plugging the heater into the block, routing the cord along the engine wall and through the grill. Am I missing something - or do I really need to go through instructions that list out 20 detailed steps to get it done.

Thanks!

2. pichner

pichner Metallic Maniac #001

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I was thinking the same thing, unless the port for the block heater is on the back side of the block. Why would I need to remove the wipers to install a EBH?

3. spsmith22

spsmith22 New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III