1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

evaporative leak check: how often, how long, drain on 12 volt?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by cwerdna, Sep 10, 2012.

1. cwerdna

cwerdna Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Ok, so when I was a newbie, I did post the below text from a tag that came w/my Prius.
    I've definitely been in the garage multiple times (including last night) when I heard the leak check going on.
    Anyone have any idea how long the leak check actually runs and how much of a drain on the 12 volt there is each time? It seems like it goes on for many minutes. (I've never been present when it started and then stopped, only while it was in progress.) Also, once it's done, does that mean 24 or 29 hours later, it could get run again, if the car hasn't been turned on, in between?
    I know we've discussed 12 volt (normal) parasitic drain from the SKS and other electronics, but I don't think it accounts for the leak check.

2. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I thought it ran only once per shutoff, no repeats. I have never heard it run a second time, though the likelihood of having caught it in action declines with time since shutoff. It runs several minutes, but I can't pin it down closer than that.

3. PRPrius

PRPrius Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
  4. R-P

R-P Active Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    How exact is this '5 hours'? It takes quite some work, but if we know this time to the starttime to within a few minutes, I'll try to perform a measurement with a series ampere meter. If it is within a 2 hour window, then I'm not waiting for it...

My 20A multimeter does have an expensive fast blowing fuse (I bought it second hand with a blown fuse, that's how I know...) so I hope it's under 20A...:LOL:

5. cwerdna

cwerdna Senior Member

Vehicle: