1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Evaporator cleaning/deodorizing DIY.

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by A617, Mar 18, 2015.

1. A617

A617 Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    So its springtime and that means A/C season, but unfortunately my a/c has been smelling like a dirty crusty gym socks, solution? Toyota's Evaporator Cleaning kit. Part number 00289ACRKT

IMG_1525.JPG

It comes in 2 cans 1 foam that you instill into the evaporator via the water drain and the other its a aerosol spray that deodorizes the vent, I bought this on Ebay for $20 while my local dealer wanted $49.99+tax for just the foam (my local dealer sucks btw) The can has some (universal) instructions written. this is my first time using this so if i made some errors correct me.

What you'll need
    1 Toyota Evaporator cleaning Kit, part number 00289ACRKT
    1 Cabin filter

*Before you begin set the temperature to low and turn off the car. Do not run the fan or start the vehicle while the foam is in the system!

1. (Optional) Find your a/c evaporator drain line, this if you want to put a drain pan to catch it (to see what junks comes out) its located on the right side (passenger side) behind the engine you'll need some light to see the pipe sticking out.
    IMG_1528.JPG

2. Due to access problem of the outside drain line i used this route, Go to the passenger side and remove the glove box and lower kick panel (similar to when you're replacing your cabin filter), then peel back the floor mat to expose the drain line from the evaporator,
    IMG_1531.JPG

3.Disconnect the outside drain line from the evaporator
    IMG_1545.JPG