1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Finally!!!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by beezer, May 24, 2014.

1. beezer

beezer Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Just wanted to throw this out there ... because I am new to the Prius world and love these forums!

I have had my 2008 Prius for two weeks now. I drive about 7-8 miles to work and the same home. I have seen an average of 38 mpg. That is ok ... not what I had read about, but better than most anything else.
    Then .... my wife and I drove to Newnan, Ga for dinner tonight. It was about 180 miles round trip. I averaged 75mpg and lost 2 of 10 blips on what I have read is called the "guess" meter. I actually got scared that something was wrong when I drove all the way to the restaurant and all 10 "blips" stayed put.

2. Emcguy

Emcguy Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    N/A
    Congratulations. Everything sounds completely normal. You may not get great stats when travelling 8 miles but it will still be much better than a 'traditional' vehicle. On the freeway you won't loose any blips (pips) as it uses kW and charges at similar rate. You will will only run out of charge if you do a long run eg. 1 mile in a 40mph zone with no ICE. At this stage the ICE, plus regen, will replace lost charge.

beezer likes this.
  3. SageBrush

SageBrush Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Yep -- the gauge is definitely non-linear. From full the first pip goes away after some 100 miles of 'not high speed' highway driving.

Short drives on a cold engine will give results you are seeing. If you want better, buy and use an engine block heater to 'pre-heat' your engine before your drive.

beezer likes this.
  4. dorunron

dorunron Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Congratulations on your recent purchase and "Welcome to Prius Chat"!