1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

First Prius Camping Trip complete with Generator and HVAC system.

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by smharmon, Jun 4, 2014.

1. smharmon

smharmon New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hello!

I did some light research and hope I am posting this in the right place. My first day on the forum...

Here is how I made the Prius into a HVAC system, generator and cargo hauler:

I've had my Prius over two years now. I'm an armor officer and live a pretty rough, dirty and active life with the Army. Most of my buddies drive trucks, SUVs and sports cars. If I drive a 72 ton Abrams tank at work, I just don't feel the need to look "manly" in my car. I can't help but chuckle when I'm made fun of... The hatchback, MPG rating, comfort (even for a 6'1" 220 soldier) and ability to pack two Army tough boxes and gear in the back sold me on the car. It has been great.

Since the first few months of ownership I made a few modifications to help the interior survive my Army life. Husky molded floor liners keep the mud out of the carpet and Cover King Neoprene custom seat covers keeps the fabric clean. The windows were tinted to include a UV blocker clear layer on the front window to keep the heat down. That is about it until about two months ago.