1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

For a used car: what are the significant advantages of a Prius 4?

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by SouthbayJA, Oct 9, 2013.

1. SouthbayJA

SouthbayJA New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A

I'm new to Prius Chat and glad to be here. I've never owned a Prius, but have driven a couple. I've started my search for a used Prius and I'd like to find a Series 3 or 4. I'm wondering if anyone has an opinion about the advantages of a 4 series?

Thanks!

2. Codyroo

Codyroo Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Prior to 2012, the prius 4 comes with leather seats, heated seats, the 3 came with cloth seats. In some areas, such as California, the 4 also came with the Navigation system and back up camera. You could get these (seats and nav) as options in the 3. Both the cars had optional sun roofs. I don't remember if the stereo system was upgraded in the 4 compared to the 3.

For 2012 and beyond, I don't recall the option differences.

3. smokiejoe

smokiejoe Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Prius IV has electric lower lumbar seat support, quiet a nice feature if your back acts up.

4. SouthbayJA

SouthbayJA New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks for that info!

5. SouthbayJA

SouthbayJA New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks for all the details, much appreciated!

6. SouthbayJA

SouthbayJA New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Great info. This is really helping me lean toward the 4 over the 3. Thanks!

7. Codyroo

Codyroo Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    The 2010 package 4 also came with a "home link" rear view mirror. It allows you to program a couple of remotes (garage door openers) to it (I've never used mine because our garage door opener has been broken for about 4 years (LOL).