1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Fuel Capacity and MPG Calcs

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by Chicken Man, May 26, 2012.

1. Chicken Man

Chicken Man Brand-new to the Prius world

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    (I know there are similar threads, and I apologize if some feel that I'm needlessly starting a new one, but I didn't see anything similar in the PIP forum)

I'm very new to the Prius world, and am having some significant difficulty reconciling the combination of fuel remaining in the tank and the car's calculation of MPG.

Leaving work for my 30 mile mixed commute with 2 pips on the fuel gauge (had been 3 pips for my morning drive) and a full battery, the car started blinking with about 10 miles of driving remaining. The computer finally decided that that I only had 3 miles of driving remaining, however it stayed at that same 3 miles for about 4 miles of remaining driving before I could get fuel (Mind you I also had "4 miles" of EV capacity).

When the car was filled, it took 8.5 gallons, which is 2.1 gallons LESS than the advertised 10.6 gallon capacity. The car computer stated that had 84 mpg for the trip/tank. My calculation was 74.5 mpg.

While I fully understand the desire to not damage a fuel pump, or become a stranded hazard in the road, it seems like a 2+ gallon "idiot factory" is shortening my range by about 100 miles.

Am I not understanding something about the fuel bladder system? Does my card need to be re-calibrated? Can I better (and precisely and accurately) hone this in with my ScanGauge II?

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    hi chick!
    we all have a lot to learn about the pip. some things i know and some i'm guessing. others will jump in to add to or correct my thoughts.