1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Heavy Traffic Draining Hybrid Battery

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by ChipotleBlkBean, Apr 14, 2011.

1. ChipotleBlkBean

ChipotleBlkBean New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I just got my '09 Prius about two weeks ago, so I am pretty new at this. On the way into the city yesterday I hit very heavy stop and go traffic. For the first 10 minutes I got over 100 mpg, but then the Hybrid Battery was depleted and I got less than 20 mpg. Is this normal? If so, is there any way to avoid this?

Thanks

2. GSW

GSW PRIUS POWER

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I sacrifice mpg during heavy traffic and allow the ICE to kick on when going slightly uphill to keep the battery charged. Sometimes that can be a challenge. I usually pulse the battery when going slow and then coast when possible. The whole point is mpg while trying to save battery power. Impossible in some situations.

3. seilerts

seilerts Battery Curmudgeon

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    This is normal. There are two things that happen. First, you can, and probably were, using battery-only to creep forward. Using the engine to provide a stronger pulse forward might be better. Second, the hybrid battery provides all power for the car's electronics, A/C, headlights, and keeping the 12V battery charged. Even when not moving, the hybrid battery is being drained, and the computers will only let it drain so far without taking action. There are only two ways to keep the hybrid battery charged up: regen braking, or running the engine. Regen braking is basically non-existent in creep-forward traffic, so that leaves running the engine. If the engine is running to charge the battery while forward speed is very low, MPG suffers.

4. TonyPSchaefer

TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced