1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Help: First Dealership Car Purchase

Discussion in 'Dealers & Pricing' started by TheAznDoctor, Apr 26, 2014.

1. TheAznDoctor

TheAznDoctor New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello Ladies and Gentleman, this is my first time attempting to purchase a vehicle from a dealership. I currently own a 2008 pontiac g6 with 83000 and found it's time to part ways with it.

From my reading online I will not be trading in and or purchasing any warrenties or additonal add ons from the dealership. I will also look to finance through my credit union rather then the 2.9 for 60 months they currently offering and nab the 1000 dollars rebate off instead. Also looking at just flipping my plate over from my g6 to the prius.

The current price they are offering me from ohio dealer for a blizzard white Prius v Two with remote starter is 26,279.00 before "taxes, title, and fees". Edmund's website invoice puts the car with options listed at 26,374 and destination fee added.

Does this seem like a adequate deal considering new models role out in July, should I sit and wait or continue to shop around. Any other things I should be aware of when dealing with dealerships and anyone recommend a dealer? I hail from Metro Detroit, Michigan

Supplementary info: Can I readily upgrade the head unit on the model two or do I need to get another model. Also how is depreciation on these models.

Thanks for the help =)

2. Easy Rider

Easy Rider Active Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Sounds like you have things pretty much under control.......except maybe for "FEES".
    Some dealers can pack a LOT of bogus crap in under that category.

Then, why NOT trade in your old car......IF they will give you a fair price ??
    Research that on KBB, NADA and Edmunds.
    It can save you a lot of hassle if you don't have to deal with selling it yourself.