1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

hey everybody, possible future Prius owner here.

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by MittensTDI, Aug 1, 2014.

1. MittensTDI

MittensTDI Junior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    hey there, and thank you for allowing me to be apart of this. let me introduce myself. my name is Jules, I'm a freelance computer tech, who loves cars, computers, amateure DJing but above all, my kids.

anyways, I was hoping that many of you could help me with getting some info on a Gen II to early Gen III Prius. but I do a few questions about this interesting little car. however before anyone asks, I have driven for two weeks while a buddy was on vacation, it was a 08 and enjoyed it.. it nearly got as much range as my Golf TDI

1: I was wondering if the Plug-In Supply plugin conversion would extend the range of EV mode (no use of ICE) in both cars if possible. I realise the Gen II doesn't have a EV Button from Toyota unless added and wired later. they sell various ranges to assist the car from 10 miles to 75 miles. I ask because I drive in the city and speed limit averages 35 mph maybe 40.

2: is there anyway to convert this little car to run on ethanol? I ask again because some places I drive to have E85 for cheap (two places here in Michigan have it for nearly 50 -75 cents cheaper). I usually run, in the one car that is flex fuel, premium and E85 or a mix of both with pretty good MPGs and that's top of my OCD about driving conservatively. (I've been know to get mid 20s in the city with my mom and dad's non flex fuel Jeep when I drive it)

anyways...