Welcome to PriusChat

We'd love to have you join our community and participate in the conversation! Sign up for FREE today.

Sign Up

Homelink won't work-Help!

Discussion in 'Gen III 2010+ Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubles' started by Djpdx1, Jul 26, 2009.

Social Buttons

  1. Djpdx1

    Djpdx1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I have a brand-new Prius IV but the Homelink will not work on my rolling code LiftMaster garage door opener. Yes I read the manual and used the "Learn" button and pressing the Homelink button two or three times does not work. One thread suggested pressing the [now] programmed Homelink button and then checking to see if the "Learn" button light is flashing-if it is, press it and the door should be programmed. I pressed the Homelink, the "Learn" button flashed, and I pressed it. Nope, no worko.

    I have a 2008 Camry with the exact same programming instructions and it works flawlessly. I cleared out the "Learn" memory and reprogrammed the Camry and my touchpad, but the Prius will not work. Am I missing anything? Is it a bad Homelink? The dealer wants me to leave the car all day but they said they have no way to verify repair since they don't have MY garage door and I live ten miles away. VERY frustrating Toyota!
  2. ualdriver

    ualdriver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Midwest US
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced


    Try calling the Homelink technical support people directly. I followed all the instructions for my garage door opener from Toyota (Gen II Prius) and this forum, and nothing worked. When I called the Homelink people directly and gave them the info, we got it working in 10 minutes.
  3. stream

    stream Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,977
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Try the instructions at homelink.com.
  4. flex

    flex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooks, Alberta
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I too had trouble until I went to homelink.com....got it working in minutes. To open your door once it's programmed, you can't just push the button once like on your regular opener, you have to hold it for a couple of seconds as well....
  5. flim

    flim Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, California
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced


    I have programmed my current 2010 Prius IV the same way I did with my previous 2006 & my wife's 2007 Touring, coincidentally on a Liftmaster garage door.

    You have to do a 2 step programming.

    1st step per manual:

    "Press and hold down one of the buttons on the Homelink and the button on the transmitter. When the indicator light on the Homelink changes from a SLOW to a RAPID FLASH after 20 SECONDS, you can release both buttons."

    Since you have a rolling code feature you have to proceed to the next step to complete your programming.

    2nd step:

    PRESS & RELEASE (DO NOT HOLD) the learn button on the motor unit and the indicator light will glow steadily for 30 seconds. If you HOLD the learn button, it will wipe out all previous codes.

    PRESS & HOLD the programmed Homelink button for 2 seconds and release it. You may have to repeat this step a 2nd or 3rd time. Once your garage door opens, the programming process is complete.
    1 person likes this.
  6. Randall Rash

    Randall Rash Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Rockwall, TX
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Homelink.com also had the initial step of pressing and holding the two outside buttons (1 and 3) until blink (I guess to clear out garbage). I also had to find and use a remote that came with the unit and not a second universal remote from the store that had been programmed for the unit.
  7. HTMLSpinnr

    HTMLSpinnr Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    830
    Location:
    Surprise, AZ (Phoenix)
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I have the same brand opener @ home. The LiftMaster opener won't register until the mirror has properly learned the remote's code. I found the "learn process" for the mirror takes far longer than 20 seconds outlined in the manual. Keep pressing the #1 button until the blinking state changes per the manual while holding down the remote for your garage.

    One tip - while programming the remote, lock the garage door opener w/ the wall button to keep it from opening/closing while the mirror is learning from the opener's remote.

    Once you get the positive blinking in the mirror, then you can press the learn button (briefly) then have someone in the car press the #1 button to pair the opener to the mirror.
  8. ctmurray

    ctmurray Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV


    And this was the key for me. You had to do both steps back to back. The Prius 2010 manual I have reads like you try step 1. Then if that does not work try approach step 2. But not back to back. So I had reset the unit and tried step 1 which did not work. Then I reset the unit and tried step 2, which did not work. But this did work:

    1. Reset unit
    2. Do step 1 (and it fails)
    3. Do step 2 (and it works)

    The first click of the button in step two saw the light on the unit still flashing. The second click of the button saw the light on the unit become solidly lit. The third click of the button caused the door to work.
    1 person likes this.
  9. DrJon

    DrJon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Ok, weird thing tring to program mine. We have 2 garage doors. Best I've been able to do now is Homelink #1 button opens BOTH garage doors at same time now. Can't get Homelink #2 or #3 buttons to pair with either Garage Door opener. Interestingly enough, old remotes still operate normally. One button opens one side, other one opens the other! Any ideas?? Genie Pro garage door openers with rolling codes (deduced from the way Homelink #1 programmed).
  10. IraS

    IraS Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V


    From what you said, it appears that your remote controls are probably the same. I suspect that you paired both garage door openers to the same button on the homelink mirror.

    I only have one garage door opener, but I would guess you have to perform the following steps:

    1. Reset the homelink system (i.e. press both buttons 1 and 3 simultaneously until the system resets)
    2. Perform step 1 (above) using button 1 and one of your remotes.
    3. Perform step 2 (above) using button 1 and the learn button on one of your garage door openers. Keep repeating this step until the garage door opener responds.
    4. Perform step 1 (above) using button 2 and the second remote.
    5. Perform step 2 (above) using button 2 and the learn button on the second garage door opener. Keep repeating this step until the garage door opener responds.
    tumbleweed, mlgreve and DrJon like this.
  11. brad1240

    brad1240 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salisbury NC
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I had trouble with mine also, I am very familiar with programming them, I took it back to the dealer and after 3 hours of trying to figure it out they found 2 wires were switched when they installed the homelink at port. After I got home it programmed with no problem.
  12. jim256

    jim256 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Eastern NC
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV


    Good instructions, and it's also possible Dr Jon has to clear the #2 overhead unit of the button 1 Prius code. I think it may have added that as an additional opener for door 2 when the learn button was pressed. My Genie can learn 4 opener codes, as I recall. It may require a start over on the Prius as well as both openers, relearning the old hand held openers first, then training the Prius to them, then having each opener learn their respective Prius button code, separately as you describe.
    1 person likes this.
  13. DrJon

    DrJon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV


    OK, thanks for everybody's input, I'll go out to the garage and try again!
  14. DrJon

    DrJon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV


    Wow, I finally got it thanks to everybody's help here! Had to just reset everything and start over from scratch. First programmed all the remotes, then homelinks (wife's and mine).:rockon:
    1 person likes this.
  15. kawita

    kawita Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Batavia, IL
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Has anybody added a homelink mirror aftermarket? I'd like to add one in my II if it won't be a hassle.
  16. pdxrose

    pdxrose New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    25
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III



    Maybe thats why I never got it to work on the Avalon I owned from 04 to 07 :D The salesman dropped the car of at my home but could not get it to work. I never did either, but did not take it back to have them look at it at the dealer. Then purchased a CRV which I still own and did not even ask if it had it...since lost interest.
  17. bobfox

    bobfox new to Prius

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV


    I also have a Prius IV, but have a Genie door opener.

    For first time training, press and hold the two outer HomeLink buttons, releasing only when the HomeLink indicator light begins to flash after 20 seconds. (Do not perform this step when training the additional HomeLink buttons.)

    1. Hold both the handheld transmitter button and the HomeLink button you would like to program until the HomeLink flashes slowly then rapidly (then release both buttons)
    2. Press and hold the HomeLink button you just programmed. If the garage door opens/closes then programming is complete. If it does not then proceed to step 4.
    3. Get a ladder and press and release the “learn†button on the back of your garage door motor head
    4. Within 30 seconds get back into your vehicle and press and release the HomeLink button you just programmed up to 3 times or until your garage door activates. Programming is complete.
    Performing all four of the above steps is what worked for me.
  18. 94Aspy

    94Aspy New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    South Bend, IN
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    After trying several times to get my homelink to work properly, I read this thread yesterday, tried again last night, and was finally able to program my opener with the homelink. Just thought I would share my experiences. To be specific, I have a 2010 Prius IV + SLR and a 1/3 hp Chamberlain garage door opener.

    1. I agree with ctmurray that the manual is confusing:



    The first time I tried programing homelink I used the manual and read it to imply that if you have a non-rolling codes opener, use the first section of instructions and if you have a rolling codes opener, use the second section of instructions. After reading the info at homelink.com it was clear to me that you actually have to do both.

    2. In order to get the homelink to read the signal from the opener after the "learn" button was pressed, the car had to be inside of my garage.

    This one took a long time for me to figure out, especially since the homelink.com instructions belabor the fact that cars emit CO2 and the programing should be performed with the car oustide of the garage. I had my Prius parked so that instead of the front of the car facing the open garage door (as if I was going to pull into the garage in drive) the drivers door was facing the open garage door (I did this because I live in an appartment and didn't want to block the road entirely).

    I tried following the homelink.com instructions several times, and it seemed to be working, but then when I got to the last step of pushing the desired homelink button for 2 seconds up to 3 times, the opener would never respond.

    I pulled the Prius into the garage and repeated the instructions. I had to leave the drivers door open and stand on the door still in order to reach the "learn" button on the opener, but when I went to do the last step, it worked right away.

    The only explanation I could see for this was that there was something blocking the "learn" signal between the Prius and the opener when the car was outside of the garage.
  19. skilbovia

    skilbovia Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V


    I had mine working perfectly using the above method. Then all of a sudden both garage doors started to open together. Pressed the 2 outer buttons for reset, then redid the programming per the steps above all worked well for a few days and now both doors are opening together again. I have Pilot GDO's. I also have a 2006 Sienna XLE that works flawlessly and has never needed reprogramming. I'm tempted to go off on a rant about this but what's the point. I'll just continue to open both doors. At least I can get in and out of the garage without getting soaked in the rain. OK, I'll rant. I agree that the Prius is one of the most reliable and the most efficient cars around as far as gas mileage is concerned. But those of us who spend 5K on a V and another 5K on the ATP shouldn't have to put up with dumb USB searching, navigation systems that put our homes in the middle of fields and now Homelink systems that open both garage doors. Toyota makes a FORTUNE on options and they should at least work. I'm disgusted with the disregard that Toyota has for its customers whe it comes to things like this. In retrospect, I should have bought a Prius II, added my own top of the line nav/sat/stereo and saved 10K. Toyota engineers that design the actual cars are amazing but the ones that put together the options have the brains of a spice rack. OK, I'm done.
  20. skilbovia

    skilbovia Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I just got off the phone with Homelink and my programming problems are now solved. I have Raynor Pilot units with rolling codes and after programming both doors would open when I pressed the first button. Well, after speaking with Tracy at Homelink I was told not to use two buttons on the same remote, but to use the large buttons on both remotes. It seems that there is a significant digit issue and if the codes are close together as they are on the same remote one button can open both doors. Two separate remotes have codes that are numerically very different from each other so the doors do not interpret the codes sent from the Prius as the same if the Prius mirror buttons are programmed by separate remotes.

    So here are the programming steps for two garage door openers.

    1. Go find both remotes.

    2. Back both cars out of the garage.

    3. In the Prius, hold buttons 1 and 3 for 20 seconds till the red light starts to blink fast. The button programs are now cleared.

    4. Using the garage door opener remote for the Prius stall, press mirror button #1 and the big button on the remote together until the red mirror lite starts to blink quickly. The garage door in front of you will activate.

    5. Using the garage door opener remote for the other stall, press mirror button #2 and the big button on the remote for the other stall together until the red mirror lite starts to blink quickly. The garage door in front of the other stall will activate.

    6. Now go to the garage door opener head for the Prius stall and press but do not hold in the learn button. (Holding it in will clear all the codes causing other problems).

    7. Within 30 seconds go to the Prius mirror and hold button 1 in for 2 seconds and release. If the door does not activate, repeat this step 1 or 2 more times till it does.

    8. Now go to the garage door opener head for the other stall and press but do not hold in it's learn button.

    9. Within 30 seconds go to the Prius mirror and hold button 2 in for 2 seconds and release. If the door does not activate, repeat this step 1 or 2 more times till it does.

    That should do it. If it doesn't call 800 355-3515 and then press 4 for a tech. They really know their stuff.
Similar Threads: Homelink won't
Forum Title Date
Gen III 2010+ Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubles Prius Homelink Stopped Working Oct 22, 2014
Gen III 2010+ Prius Main Forum HomeLink Sep 30, 2014
Gen III 2010+ Prius Technical Discussion Homelink with compass Sep 27, 2014
Gen III 2010+ Prius Main Forum 2014 Prius IV programming HomeLink Sep 16, 2014
Toyota Prius Plug-in Sushi Mod 4 and 5: Auto-dimming Mirror with HomeLink and Lower Door Molding Jul 17, 2014