1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

How often do you guys need to inflate your tires?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Roger T, Apr 13, 2014.

1. Roger T

Roger T Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    My factory standard tire pressure is 35 psi on my prius.

The first time i ever checked my tire pressure has reading 32 psi, on all four tires. I hyper-inflated my tires to 40/38 psi to experiment. It was more bumpy but I did not notice a huge change in MPG. Like two months later, the pressure fell back down to about 36/35 psi.

Is it normal? Are tires supposed to be never needed to be inflated? Or I need to inflate regularly to keep the pressure?

I am a newbie to cars. Thank you for reading this.

2. RRxing

RRxing Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Limited
    All tires lose pressure over time. It is a good practice to check the pressure at least once a month, or at every fill-up.

southjerseycraig and frodoz737 like this.
  3. Roger T

Roger T Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Ok. My uncle told me these tires will hold air almost forever. Thanks for telling me.

4. jhinsc

jhinsc Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I check my tires when the weather changes seasons, and about every 4-6 weeks when I think about it. They stay pretty consistent so I'm mostly just adjusting them to current conditions. I'm not sure if I get a boost in mpg's, but higher psi's seem to produce more even tire wear. Factory spec psi tends to have the tires wear out on the outer edges faster.

Godzuki likes this.
  5. GrumpyCabbie

GrumpyCabbie Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Ambient temperature makes a difference too. If the weather has got much warmer or colder you'll notice a difference in tyre pressures.