1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Is the neocon movement a self-esteem cult for losers?

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by jared2, Sep 21, 2006.

1. jared2

jared2 New Member

"I've been saying for 3 years that the war and the entire neocon movement is a thinly disguised self-esteem cult for those with no education, no prospects, and/or no ability to connect with the reality of our changing, challenging world culture.

In the neocon world, doing what makes us FEEL like we're doing the right thing is more important than doing what gets results. So we wage war and cloak it in Christian terms so we can feel macho and American and like we're soldiers for God. It doesn't matter to many Americans whether or not the barbaric tactics work; they FEEL safer and they FEEL better about themselves by association with Bush and the military. Never mind that the policy is unmitigated disaster on so many fronts it's hard to count them all."
    Pacificwhim
    Salon

Do you agree with Pacificwhim's analysis of the neocon movement?

2. malorn

malorn Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(jared2 @ Sep 21 2006, 02:07 PM) [snapback]322981[/snapback]</div>
    Wow I do not consider myself a neocon but it is Pacificwhim's elitist thinking that has changed the political landscape in America. I for one hope the Democrats can come to their collective senses and move away from those that feel about themselves and the U.S. as Pacificwhim does. We are all much better off with two strong political parties.

3. jared2

jared2 New Member