1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

is there any downside to a prius?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by stinken1, Jun 20, 2005.

1. stinken1

stinken1 New Member

i have been driving my prius for about a couple of months now.
    is there any downside that i should be aware of? e.g: extra maintenance?

2. V8Cobrakid

V8Cobrakid Green Handyman

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    there is a lot less maintenance. Downsides... if you have trac control.. er.. it think every prius has a basic function traction control.. the engine will cut if you slip.. so.. going up icy roads.. it "stalls".. up slippery dirt roads.. stall... this is the only real problem.

hmm.. other.. other... lemme thing... HID theft.. it's rare though.. engine cut out is very rare.. although fbi was warried about it or some crap.... umm... rear visibility? i adjusted my mirrors so i can see everythign around me.. just some other people complained. hmm... sound.. it's not up to par. sound deaden the car ( however you spell it ) and everything gets much better. there are several post on this right now.

it's quick.. keeps up to speed.. good gas mileage... those are all good things huh? :)

ummm... well.. after 40k miles on my '04.. i'm happy.

oh.. heat

i would sound proof the ceiling if you are going to sound proof. well.. you could just insulate it too... but the ceiling is big.. heat build up... so.. point the a/c vents up if it's warm where you live.. or.. tint the windows and sound proof the car.

not much else i can think of.

enjoy :)

3. ceric

ceric New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    My other car is BMW 540iA. So you know how I reach the following comparison. I commute in my Prius and am loving it.
    - poorer handling: slow down when you turn. The rear solid axle suspension is not very forgiving. It hops when you push it beyond limit. Most sports car would scream first....