1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

JBL: CD's fine but radio horrible

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by r1perkins, Mar 25, 2005.

1. r1perkins

r1perkins New Member

Just got my new Prius AI and I am really enjoying driving it - really cool car.

I know there's been lot's of discussion about the short-comings of the upgraded JBL stereo but I seem to have a problem I couldn't find any discussion of; while the audio system is not fabulous, CD's and cassettes sound ok. But switch to any FM radio station and it sounds like your listening through a blanket. Even if I max out the treble it's still painfully lacking. I'm wondering if this goes beyond poor sound quality to an actual malfunction . . . has anyone had similar experiences?

I'm an audio engineer by trade. I can tell you that when listening to FM stations, there is audio emanating from the tweeters. But it sounds to me like there's nothing above 4KHz or so, as if it's AM. If I switch to CD or tape, I get full range sound, or at least up to 16KHz (or so).

2. mikepaul

mikepaul Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I find playing store-bought CDs a lot better than ones I made from MP3s (CD -> MP3 -> CD) but I agree that for the most part, either has better sound than the radio. Every once in a while, though, I hear nice nuances from the radio and CD at lower volume that disappear when I crank it, which sucks because cranked (50) is usually more fun...

3. TonyPSchaefer

TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(mikepaul\";p=\"75768)</div>
    Which makes me wonder: just what is the upper limit of the Prius audio system and speakers.