1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Metallic flakes in engine oil after WOT!

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by BlzzPrl2010, May 30, 2015.

1. BlzzPrl2010

BlzzPrl2010 New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I've been using full synthetic 0W-20 oil since it was new(2010 Prius. It is an early build). Last time I had an oil change was about a year and a half ago, oil has 8,000 miles on it. I ran the car hard today at wide open throttle around town. Never driven this way for the past 68,000 miles/5 years. All fluid levels are normal. When I went to check the oil dipstick after running the car at WOT a few times, I noticed a few flakes on the dip stick. Nothing big, just a 1-2 flakes very small flakes every time I reinsert the dip stick. Flakes are about the size of a single dust particle. It's 86 degrees out, which supposedly 0W-20 should protect the engine.

Is this normal?? The engine has never been ran hard except this one time.

2. xliderider

xliderider Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Are you sure it's metal? If you're lucky, it's carbon deposits that got knocked off the cylinder walls. :D

3. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    You should be changing the oil at 12 months max, on the US schedule (the time component governs). So you're about 6 months overdue. Also, an engine with thin oil like OW20 will be more vulnerable at high ambient temperatures.

WOT equals Wide Open Throttle, right?

4. BlzzPrl2010

BlzzPrl2010 New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I rubbed my finger along the dip stick then held a magnet over my finger. The flakes were picked up by it. I was hoping it was just carbon deposits too...

5. BlzzPrl2010

BlzzPrl2010 New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model: