1. Offline

    Gen2wjp Junior Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Just got this info last week after I got a status report on why the 10.1 update DVD I had ordered was not available. The dealer told me that the factory stopped shipping the 10.1 version because the new 11.1 version would be available in 3-4 weeks. The Fall of each year is the target for issuing the nav DVD updates. This is consistent with the info on the Lexus forum.
  2. Offline

    mgb4tim Noob

    Member Since:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Can't say I'm excited since the 8.1 to 10.1 didn't do much to impress me. IT would be nice if it upgraded the character display on the HU ;)
  3. Offline

    Philatc Pushing Tin

    Member Since:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    131
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Did the dealership quote you on a price for the update?
  4. Offline

    Gen2wjp Junior Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Yes. It is the dealer discount price of $199, but they show an MSRP of $239 on the order form.
  5. Offline

    jdcollins5 Senior Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Posts:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    876
    Location:
    Wilmington, NC
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Is there any info available yet to show what changes are included in the new 11.1 version?
  6. Offline

    Philatc Pushing Tin

    Member Since:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    131
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I wonder if Toyota will come out with a say...5 yr or 10 yr subscription for Nav updates??? It really isn't cool how the update is $150+
  7. Offline

    web1b Active Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Posts:
    814
    Likes Received:
    52
    10 years is too long, but free updates during the first 3 years the car is under warranty would make sense.
    Once a year updates are not enough to keep up with POI changes, but the new Entune with Bing search will help.
  8. Offline

    voltic New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Virginia
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    FWIW, I was making sure the dealer hadn't given me old maps when I bought my Prius last week, and I already have 11.1.

    [IMG]
  9. Offline

    Sofakingcopter New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Posts:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    So-Cal
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    How do I get to that screen?
  10. Offline
    • Moderator

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North

    Member Since:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    28,173
    Likes Received:
    1,445
    Location:
    Canada
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    INFO-PHONE --> Map Data
    1 people like this.
  11. Offline

    VVTiBob New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    FYI I received an email this morning from Lexus/Toyota on the new 11.1 maps which they say are now available for a "reduced" price of $169.00. I'm waiting to hear from the dealer I work with for the loyal customer price.
  12. Offline

    ben12345 Junior Member

    Member Since:
    May 4, 2011
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    Your Vehicle Year:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Can you show a photo of the map screen? I have 10.1 and the graphics are pretty poor. Does not look anything like a Garmin or Tom Tom.

    Just wondering if they improved this on version 11.1 or just updated the maps. I would not mine paying for an upgrade although I have only had the car (2011) about six months, if the graphics looked more like the Garmin interface.
  13. Offline

    voltic New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Virginia
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I will take photos at a couple zoom levels tonight. I actually like the nav in my Prius better than the one in my Infiniti... I find it one of the better factory navs. Also, I have yet to see an aftermarket nav that tracks as smoothly, has traffic, and voice commands that work as well as an OEM system, so map resolution seems like a small sacrifice...
    1 people like this.
  14. Offline
    • Moderator

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North

    Member Since:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    28,173
    Likes Received:
    1,445
    Location:
    Canada
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I would think that screen resolution shouldn't change with the disc.
  15. Offline

    ben12345 Junior Member

    Member Since:
    May 4, 2011
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    Your Vehicle Year:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    It is not so much the resolution as it is the graphics. That is the visual layout of the maps. As an example on mine (10.1) the indicator for the car is an arrow. Also it does not show speed limits. On the other brand GPS's, the indicator is a car. The roads look like roads. They show when you change speed limits. None of this shows up on the Prius screen.

    I was hoping some of these visuals would be improved in the update.
  16. Offline
    • Moderator

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North

    Member Since:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    28,173
    Likes Received:
    1,445
    Location:
    Canada
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Ahh I see. I highly doubt it though. Toyota has used this icon for years now. The graphics update would be nice (though it depends on how much space they have left over in the disc. The HDD navs have nicer graphics than the DVD-based ones).

    I have a TomTom ONE (from 2006) and it doesn't have any of the fancier stuff of newer navs (like intelligent routing, map sharing, speed limits and so forth) but it is handy to have both types of nav!
  17. Offline

    FrancescoS New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    How does it work for you?

    10.1 is stupid. The other day it told me to "Do a legal u-turn when possible" while on a highway onramp. It has also told me to take useless turns onto side roads make the trip longer.
  18. Offline

    jdcollins5 Senior Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Posts:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    876
    Location:
    Wilmington, NC
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    You need to use the setup parameters to match your driving style. It sounds like you may have it set to avoid major highways so it is looking for side road alternatives.

    Take the time to read your manual and learn to set up the configuration parameters and the unit will function much better.
  19. Offline

    FrancescoS New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    All those options are checked. Regarding the on-ramp issue, after driving further in to the on-ramp it gave me a proper route using the interstate.

    My TomTom doesn't have this issue.
  20. Offline

    jdcollins5 Senior Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Posts:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    876
    Location:
    Wilmington, NC
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    My Nav doesn't have this issue either and I have the same car as you. I have no idea what the difference is between your Nav and mine other than area maps and settings.

Share This Page