Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Sign Up

Need help with FlyAudio Nav install with JBL

Discussion in 'Gen III 2010+ Prius Audio and Electronics' started by J0keboy, Dec 16, 2011.

Social Buttons

  1. J0keboy

    J0keboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falls church
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hey guys,

    I need help with installing the navigation unit. I thought it was simple plug and play but it looks more complicated.

    1. Do I use the JBL wires only? Or do I connect the FlyAudio Head Unite --> FlyAudio cables --> JBL connectors --> to the car wires?

    2. Where do you run the GPS antennae? Any pictures?

    3. Where do you run the ipod adapter out? Glove compartment?


    I tried looking at the Myron instructions and watching the Rosen install video but none mention the JBL wires.

    Your help is appreciated!
  2. xpcman

    xpcman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    219
    Location:
    California - SF Bay area
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I put the antenna on the top of the HU. I put the HU in the dash part way and then placed the antenna on the back of the HU. You might be able to push it to the rear after the HU is bolted in.

    I used a 1 inch hole drill and mounted the IPOD wires in the upper glove box.

    All I know about the JBL is that you need an extra adapter. You either need to convert the speaker out signal to pre-amp levels using a converter box or you need to convert the Flyaudio pre-amp plugs to fit the JBL plugs.
    1 person likes this.
  3. J0keboy

    J0keboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falls church
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Thanks xpcman. I'm just confused with the two set of wires. I'm try and figure it out today. Will post once I'm done. Any other helpful input would be great.
  4. aneumayr

    aneumayr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Check out: FLYAUDIO $499 + shipping
  5. ucsmfu

    ucsmfu Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    382
    Location:
    canada
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V


    If you can post pics and step by step instructions that would be great help too, getting mine soon
  6. J0keboy

    J0keboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falls church
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Ok, it wasn't as simple as plug and play. I actually took it to a professional car audio installer and he had to cut/connect all the wires for me.

    If you know what your doing, it's easy... it took the guy 5 mins to do it.

    ***However, I have 2 questions:

    1. The sound volume has decrease. What volume is everyone listening on? I have to crank it up to 40's to get decent sound. Sound caps out at level 60. It's not that loud.
    Can someone help me out?

    2. How do I change navigation software? I downloaded iGO but can't seem to run it. I created the iGO folder outside the Odyssey folders.

    Your help is appreciated.

    Thanks!
  7. Bulle

    Bulle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Canada
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    If you have JBL, you probably have also the TATO box or an equivalent.
    This box has a volume too and may be your installer did not bother tweaking it.
    (You have to follow the instructions that came with the box. Also check if you need to preset the volume in the JBL amp BEFORE removing the stock radio.)

    For IGO to work, one way would be to rename the Odyssey folders so the unit can not find the old Odyssey software.
    Then when you press NAVI, the unit will not find it and ask you to browse to the software you want to use instead. Another way would be to use another SD card with IGO but with no Odyssey on it.
  8. J0keboy

    J0keboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falls church
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Bulle, thank you for responding. I do have the TATO box. Is there a volume control on the TATO box? The installer guy just helped me with the wiring and I did the plug/play.

    I'll give the navi software a try.

    Thanks.
  9. Bulle

    Bulle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Canada
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes, there should be a volume control on the TATO box; eitheir a DIP switch or a knob you can turn with a screwdriver. Check the instructions if you still have it.
  10. ucsmfu

    ucsmfu Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    382
    Location:
    canada
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    wow all of this sounds soo complicated, 0_0
  11. J0keboy

    J0keboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falls church
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    ucsmfu, it's a bit complicated with the TATO and FlyAudio wires. I'll post some pictures this week on the overall wiring.

    The low sound issue was due to me not reading the direction. I needed to set the 1-3 pin to be off on the TATO module.

    The big issue I'm having is with the Nav software.

    1. Backup and delete the Odysessy folder.
    2. Create a iGo folder on my SD Card
    3. Copied over the entire iGo software into the folder on SD card.
    4. Isert the SD card and turn on the car.
    5. Go to the main menu and clicked on GPS
    6. GPS loads and click to browse
    7. Select iGo.exe and run navigation

    Is there something I'm doing wrong?
  12. ucsmfu

    ucsmfu Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    382
    Location:
    canada
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V


    thanks, i'd really appreciate that, I bought the tato module as well, any luck with the volume yet ?

    also what tools are needed ?

    thanks again !!!
  13. J0keboy

    J0keboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falls church
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three



    ***Still having trouble running iGO. Not sure if I got the right iGO version. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

    Thanks.
  14. J0keboy

    J0keboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falls church
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
  15. ucsmfu

    ucsmfu Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    382
    Location:
    canada
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
  16. prius2010II

    prius2010II Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    us
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III


    It's only "plug and play" after you cut and splice the wires as per JOkeyboy's attachment.

    Rosen sells a JBL adapter which is one of the turn on adapters combined with a custom harness. That's plug and play, at least with the Rosen unit, but you're paying $$$ for the custom harness.
  17. J0keboy

    J0keboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falls church
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three


    No, you need to splice and connect the 3 red (ACC), 4 black (GND), and 2 yellow (Battery). See image 2. Then it's plug and play.

    It's not hard if you know the wire diagram. Just layout the wires like my pictures and rewire it.

    Feel free to PM if you have questions.

    ***I finally got my iGO nav software to work. A fellow member sent me the correct version. Now, I just need the east coast maps.

    Big thanks to everyone.
  18. J0keboy

    J0keboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falls church
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Found the maps and everything is working great. The iGo is a huge improvement over the Odyssey.

    Very please with the HU and iGO.
  19. ucsmfu

    ucsmfu Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    382
    Location:
    canada
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V


    hey jokeboy, so i need to splice the 3 red (acc), 2 yellow (battery) and 4 black (gnd) ??
  20. ucsmfu

    ucsmfu Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    382
    Location:
    canada
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    did you guys find that that climate controls in the Prius were inoperable after replacing the head unit ?

    or did it function normally
Similar Threads: Need help
Forum Title Date
Gen II Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting Need help identifying part Jul 6, 2014
Gen II Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting Read threads but still need help removing battery fan Jul 2, 2014
Gen II Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting Help needed with warning lights for '05 Prius Jun 29, 2014
Prius c Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting Need wiring diogram for prius c, Please help!!! Jun 27, 2014
Gen III 2010+ Prius Main Forum Need help with information on used prius Jun 27, 2014