1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

new driver

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by domtick, Oct 18, 2014.

1. domtick

domtick Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm new at driving a Prius (2012) and not sure if it starts to move as it should. I take my foot off the break and move about 3 foot backing out of the garage and the gas engine starts. On the other side of the garage door I stop to wait for hubby to the close garage door, gas engine is still running. Still without giving gas I move forward on my 120 ft drive and stop at the end and the gas engine is still running. I give it gas and stop at the first stop sign (1 mile away) before it cycles off. Seems to cycle on and off better once the engine is warm.

2. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    That sounds normal.

The first order of business for any Prius (except the PHV) is getting the engine warmed up so it gets low emissions. Once warm, it starts to optimize for fuel economy.

Gruesome details: Gen3 warming up stages | PriusChat

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome to priuschat. sound's perfect, congrats, all the best!(y)

4. KennyGS

KennyGS Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Congratulations and welcome!

5. HaroldW

HaroldW Active Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Welcome to PriusChat . Very normal start up. H

6. Easy Rider 2

Easy Rider 2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Unlike some other hybrids, the Prius models (all of them ??) are designed to warm up the engine and cat. converter as soon as possible.

That has been discussed on here before several times.
    A little searching for those existing threads should be informative.

7. David Beale