No guages?

Discussion in 'Prius c Main Forum' started by JAlessi, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. JAlessi

    JAlessi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    5
    0
    New York
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    New 2012 Prius C owner, it's also my first Toyota. I really love my new 'C', but I'm always worrying that I'm accelerating to hard, it's difficult to tell without a tach gauge. I commute 78 miles to work each day (156 mile round trip), and I get great gas mileage... somewhere between 55 and 63 mpg. Does anyone else miss the tachometer or is it just me?
     
  2. jbrad4

    jbrad4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    474
    145
    Rowlett, TX
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    You basically have two choices. Get an Android tablet and put the Torque app on it. On which you can display several gauges. Or, buy a ScanGauge where you can display 4 gauges at a time. The ScanGauge, for me, is easier to set up and use. Search for these on this forum and you will find a lot of good info.
     
  3. F8L

    F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    19,150
    4,012
    Sacramento, CA.
    Vehicle:
    2013 Chevy Volt
    Unless you know the exact RPM you should be at or stay under than it doesn't matter if you have one or not. The HSI indicator will tell you what you need to know until you know more about Prii and hypermiling. Then you can look into the options jbrad4 mentioned. :)
     
  4. firepa63

    firepa63 Former Prius Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    1,762
    199
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    You can't accelerate too hard with the Prius. And you don't need a tach.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. JAlessi

    JAlessi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    5
    0
    New York
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    That's actually what I wanted to hear. Thanks!:)
     
  6. fgp

    fgp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    407
    76
    nashville
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    II
    however...

    however, i too like a tach. my solution along with many other folks is the scan guage II. i also use it for water temp. do i have have it. no. do i choose to have and enjoy it. yup:)
     
  7. SquallLHeart

    SquallLHeart The Techie Guy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    821
    231
    San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    yeah.. when you're accelerating, the HSI is the best thing to really use to gauge from.

    a tach isn't really indicative of how fast you're accelerating because of the Hybrid system and how it works together.

    most times, an individual would want to read the RPM of the ICE when they're using it to see if the ICE is running high or not and using it to help with their fuel economy.. not so much about acceleration and speed.
     
  8. JimboPalmer

    JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers, Nadir of Wrongness

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    8,293
    2,568
    Greenwood MS USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I do not use the tach in my scangauge for accelerating per se.
    It confirms wind speed and direction:
    1700 No wind
    1600 Tail wind
    2000 Head wind
    etc.
    and it confirms how steep hills are.

    It is much more a 'how are the driving conditions stressing the power needed to go 61 MPH' meter for me.