Welcome to PriusChat

We'd love to have you join our community and participate in the conversation! Sign up for FREE today.

Sign Up

No Manual Contact Entry?

Discussion in 'Prius v Main Forum' started by GuamKelly, Mar 2, 2012.

Social Buttons

  1. GuamKelly

    GuamKelly Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Ipan, Guam
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    III
    OK, after several months I've found the first thing I seriously DISLIKE about my Brides' new Prius v.

    I finally got around to entering (or trying to enter) phone contacts in her car.

    We don't have a bazillion people we regularly want or need to speak to while in the car, nor do we feel the need to purchase $500+ iThingies for normal phone calls. In my 2008 Gen II, it took all of 15 minutes to manually enter the names and numbers of family and (close) friends into the Bluetooth phone book.

    There apparently is no such option in the new car (I say this after an hour or so of head scratching over the Owner's Manual and control panel, and a search of these forums and Google). Why? Why in the name of God would such a simple function be simply deleted from the software? Sure, she can receive calls (which she says is all she really wants) but why should she have to pull off the road to dial on her handset if she decides she DOES want to place a call from her brand new $28,000 technobile?

    Has anyone found a viable workaround? I know some women would be thrilled if Hubby ran out and bought them a new iThingie just so he could do this for her, but my Bride would most decidedly NOT be, nor would I.
  2. Wanderer

    Wanderer Hybrid neophyte

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Cold country
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I set up Speed dial numbers manually. Would hat work for you? W
  3. benagi

    benagi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Utah
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five


    I just picked up my Prius v 5 today. First Prius for me. Only had 1 mile on it, fresh off the boat. When my salesman got in with me he grabbed my smart phone, turned on the bluetooth then hit the setup menu and paired it with the car and in less than a minute the car had my whole phone book of at least 40 numbers stored. So any time I get in this car with my phones bluetooth on it sees it and I'm good to go.
  4. pwlcheng

    pwlcheng New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three


    There is no such option in the new car to manually enter phone contacts because there is no need to do so.

    Your contact list/phonebook data is transferred from a registered/paired cell phone.
    If you edit your contact info on your cell phone, the new edited data will show up on the screen of the Prius.
    If you manually enter phone contacts on your cell phone, the new info will show on your car display also.
  5. GuamKelly

    GuamKelly Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Ipan, Guam
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    III


    Unfortunately, that is not the case with el cheapo phones. I hate the idea of buying a newer, more complex phone than she wants, just to input a few phone numbers!
  6. rebenson

    rebenson Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Suburb of Chicago
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III


    What phone do you have?
  7. Quentin

    Quentin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Your Vehicle Year:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A


    As long as the phone has bluetooth, it should have the ability to transfer phonebooks. Unless you are using a jitterbug or something.
  8. GuamKelly

    GuamKelly Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Ipan, Guam
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    III


    We use el cheapos. Hers is a Motorola WX295, mine is a Nokia Somethingorother -- can't find a model number anywhere on it. Interestingly though, in searching for the model number I think I found how it transfers! Now I can just add her numbers to it, transfer all, and drag the ones she uses to the Speed Dial list, right? Problem solved (I think, I hope).....
  9. Wanderer

    Wanderer Hybrid neophyte

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Cold country
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    That should work. W
  10. GuamKelly

    GuamKelly Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Ipan, Guam
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    III
    OK, contacts transferred from MY phone to the car -- but they don't show when HER phone is he one connected. Is there a way to get the car to share ALL contacts, or do I just have to go get her a Nokia? I am at this point quite completely convinced that her Motorola WX-295 cannot export contacts.
  11. Wanderer

    Wanderer Hybrid neophyte

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Cold country
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I would contact your cell phone provider and ask them before you spend money. Most of he major providers have a support desk. W

    Edited to add: have you tried plugging it into the USB port yet to see if it can transfer that way? It appears to support mini-USB. I looked at the Motorola site and this would be my next attempt.
  12. Wanderer

    Wanderer Hybrid neophyte

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Cold country
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    To add an additional thought check where the contacts are stored. Looking at the very basic manual it appears they can be on the sim card or the phone. I'm not sure the car can access the sim card.

    Here is the manual: http://www.motorola.com/staticfiles...ocuments/WX265-WX295_UK-EN_68000202825_v1.pdf

    Also note it appears to support Bluetooth 2.0 which the display radio seems to have issues with for data. Everything else (calls and music) work ok.
  13. GuamKelly

    GuamKelly Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Ipan, Guam
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    III


    Yes, Wanderer, it certainly would! Could you either post or pm me how you did it?
  14. Harry Pottar

    Harry Pottar Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    MA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five


    My apologies up front if I have the wrong end of the stick I'm totally new to the Pirus, I juts got my 2012 Pirus V 5 yesterday.

    If you press the phone button you have 3 tabs, the first tab is stored contacts, the first option in the list is add new contact.

    I pressed that and added the main numbers I wanted family and emergency numbers.

    Also if you put a usb stick in the usb port to save the navigation and contacts to the stick.

    These are industry standard vcard format, you can the export from your computer contacts as vcards on to the USB stick.
    Then back in the car restore from usb and all the new contacts will be in the stored list.
  15. jdcowboy

    jdcowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Moorpark, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    IV



    They deleted the ability to manually add contacts to the 2012's. That was dumb. I have over 1000 contacts on my iphone from business. I don't want all of them on the car. WHY THE HELL CAN'T I SIMPLY ADD ONE CONTACT? It was so simple before and now it is impossible to get the contacts I want on the car. What a mistake!!!
  16. Wanderer

    Wanderer Hybrid neophyte

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Cold country
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Jdcowboy, I was able to add a number manually. I've also saved a few of my frequent contacts off in the stored area to avoid he hundred plus in my contacts. W
Similar Threads: Manual Contact
Forum Title Date
Gen II Prius Audio and Electronics manually entering contacts in Bluetooth (2008)? Jun 30, 2008
Prius c Main Forum ECU programming differs from "c" user manual Friday at 5:23 PM
Private Sales Bentley Manual 04-08 and 3 wheel trim rings, maybe x-ice xi3 winter tires 185/65-15 Sep 25, 2014
Gen II Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting 2008 prius wont lock manually or with remote Sep 6, 2014
Gen III 2010+ Prius Technical Discussion Downloadable Service Manual- refresh? Sep 1, 2014