1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Noob is soon to be the new owner of a 2005 Prius …

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by Mgrad92, Apr 19, 2014.

1. Mgrad92

Mgrad92 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    … and I feel like the very first thing I need to do is figure out how to get my iPhone connected. In my old 2001 Celica GT, I used a USA Spec iPod Interface (I'd offer a link, but I'm such a noob here that I can't) that sounded great, but came with its own set of frustrations. (Siri was routed through my Bluetooth earpiece rather than the car stereo, for one thing; also, it wanted to start playing music from my iPhone 4S immediately upon connection, and often offered novel theories about what the last thing was I'd been listening to.) And I lost it when I lost the Celica, so I'm in the market for something new anyway.

So I went looking for a way to connect my iPhone 4S to a Prius and I found the VAIS SoundLinQ3 SL3B, which sounds better in many ways. My old Celica's factory radio could offer only disc and track numbers on its LCD display, so seeing artist and title information on the Prius' screen is a definite plus. I like the Bluetooth, too, so I don't end up with cables strung all over — and it feels more future-proof, since I won't be buying something that works with my trusty iPhone 4S with a 30-pin dock connector but isn't compatible with an iPhone 5/5s (or 6?) when I finally decide it's time to upgrade.

But a few questions for anyone with some experience:

1) Do I seriously need to take apart virtually the entire dashboard if I want to access the back of the factory radio?