1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

'One-way' tires as full-sized spare?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by dbj, Aug 8, 2007.

1. dbj

dbj New Member

Hello all,

I'm a newbie who has been investigating (lurking? blush blush) the Prius through this forum. Thanks to all for the knowledge shared.

I have gotten my Prius (base), and will be having GY Triple-Treds mounted in place of the OEM tire. I was considering buying a fifth GYTT and having it mounted on a fifth Prius rim as a "rotate-able" full-sized spare for the appropriate side. However, it has occurred to me that I might have a flat on the "wrong" side of the car. In fact, I'm sure Murphy will assure it. So --

Does anyone have any experience with a one-way tread pattern being run "backward" for a day or so? Any handling or wear issues? Any other problems or expected problems from doing this?

Thanks for any info!

little greenie

2. SW03ES

SW03ES Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    It won't hurt, but why spend the extra money on the extra tire? The temporary spare is fine and odds are with how rare flats are on modern tires you'll never have to use the spare. I've been driving for 10 years and have NEVER had a flat tire (knock on wood)

3. narf

narf Active Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    I don't think a full size wheel will fit flush in the spare tire well. Anyone know for sure?

4. moredes15

moredes15 Junior Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(narf @ Aug 8 2007, 10:56 PM) [snapback]492826[/snapback]</div>
    No, it won't. However, I remove the tray and carpet cover and stand a full-sized spare up for cross-country trips. Ya sure don't need the extra weight of a full-sized spare for around-town.

5. brick

brick Active Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A