1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

P2601 Coolant Problem - Dealership replaced waterpump... help!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Phaedrus441, Oct 27, 2010.

1. Phaedrus441

Phaedrus441 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hi guys,
    I recently had a P2601 engine code (Coolant Pump Control Circuit Range/Performance) come up on my 2004 Prius with 120k miles. Instead of trying to mess with a hybrid (which I've never worked on before), I opted to take it to the dealership.

The dealership ran the code like I did and replaced the water pump for ~$500. When I went to pick up the car, the check engine light was still on! I called the shop manager over, he took it back and reset the light, drove it around the block, and turned the car off-and-on a few times without the light coming back.

The light stayed off for three weeks, but now it's back on with the same engine code and I don't know what to do... I took the car back to the dealer and am waiting to hear what they say.

Does the waterpump have much to do with the P2601 code? The service adviser I worked with the first time is "no longer with Toyota." He told me when I dropped the car off initially that it was completely out of coolant (though it wasn't-- that's the first thing I checked). When I told him it had coolant, he got shifty and then told me that even the radiator didn't have coolant in it and that the water pump needed to be replaced...

Any tips on how I should proceed? They're supposed to get back to me today/tomorrow with a new diagnosis, but I don't want to get ripped off any further.

2. Phaedrus441

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Four