Pandora Entune Problem

Discussion in 'Gen III 2010+ Prius Audio and Electronics' started by stargex, Feb 25, 2012.

  1. stargex

    stargex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    3
    0
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    So I just bought a new 2012 Prius 4 with the standard Entune system and have been playing with Entune. Everything seems to work but Pandora. I have an iPhone 4S which I have been connecting via USB (as it looks that is the only way to connect to the internet with that phone on my system), and I have linked my Entune account with my Pandora account via the Entune webpage. Problem is when I try to play music from the Pandora app I get the message "Unable to music from Pandora. Please check your internet connection and try again". This comes up right after the buffering song prompt. I believe the app has already retrieved my station data as that message appeared before buffering song message. Does anyone know how to fix this? Been trying everything I can think of and nothing seems to work.

    Note: My other apps work just fine when this happens, so my internet connection with Entune should be just fine. Thoughts?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. MBRGuru

    MBRGuru Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    255
    26
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Do you have the regular Pandora app on your phone? If so, try uninstalling it and then see what happens.
     
  3. stargex

    stargex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    3
    0
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Yeah I do. I have already tried uninstalling it and then trying the Entune Pandora. Same error occurred. I have also tried reinstalling the app. Still the same error. I even linked the Entune account to another Pandora account. Weird thing was I was able to select a radio station (presumably because that account had never been used before); however, when it started buffering the song I got the same error.
     
  4. pwlcheng

    pwlcheng New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    14
    5
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    When this happen, was your iPhone using WiFi or 3G connection? Try to run a SpeedTest to check your download and upload speed.
     
  5. shrktank

    shrktank New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    56
    7
    Imperial,Mo
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I have a Galaxy S II on ATT and I have no issues with Entune and Pandora.

    However today I tried to use my Samsung Note and while the phone would connect I could never seem to get Pandora, Fuel Prices to work.

    I think it might be to different versions of the android OS


     
  6. stargex

    stargex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    3
    0
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I have tried the test with my iPhone on WiFI and 3G (with good signal) connection. The regular pandora app has been working just fine when I do try it with my tests. So I don't think it should be a speed problem. I haven't tried to do a speed test yet to see my number. I try that next time I get a chance and see if I am getting any bad numbers.
     
  7. Hawkeyegirl

    Hawkeyegirl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    2
    0
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I can stream Pandora from my BT no problem, can connect w/Entune all apps except Pandora. Pandora has only connected through Entune a couple of times but doesn't make it pasta few bars.... All other apps run great.... Suggestions?
     
  8. bing281

    bing281 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    4
    2
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Possibly make sure you have the newest version of the radio software which is currently 1.8.4 you can find this in the settings of the radio.

    I had 1.7.4 and pandora only worked from time to time. With 1.8.4 it works pretty much 90% of the time. I also have an android phone HTC EVO.

    hope that helps.
     
  9. Hawkeyegirl

    Hawkeyegirl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    2
    0
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Thanks, I will check the version. I think I am going to end up sticking with BT Pandora and use the entune connection for the other apps if that doesn't work... Seems to be more consistent. I am an android user as well, Samsung Replenish. I am loving that my eco friendly phone (which is exempt for Sprint's smartphone surcharge) is connecting with the Prius.
     
  10. My2012Prius

    My2012Prius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    1
    0
    California
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    I also just purchased a 2012 Toyota Prius equipped with Entune. I am able to play Pandora through my BT (have an iphone 4), yet unable to get the the Entune Pandora app to work (repeatedly says "online connection failed" whenever I try).

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
     
  11. termite

    termite New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    11
    3
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I have 2012 Prius paired with Iphone 4 and all Entune apps including Pandora works fine.
    This maybe obvious to some but I found that it only works when Entune app on the iphone is made to be the active app on the iphone at the time when we're trying to access entune in the car.
     
  12. thebeed

    thebeed New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    50
    0
    San Francisco, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I was having the same problem w iPhone 4s. Got it to work only if I plugged the phone into the USB port with Entune open BEFORE I started the car ( while standing on one foot and whistling Beethoven's 6th Symphony). Still couldn't get pandora to play tho everything else worked fine (so long as the car wasn't moving). Glad I didn't buy the car for Entune.
     
  13. WE0H

    WE0H ^^My garage queen^^

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    3,264
    520
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I am running a iPhone 4 with IOS 5.0.1 Jailbroken. It works with my car either on Bluetooth or using a cheep eBay USB cable. Absolutely zero problems. I can play Pandora from my phone or the car's audio system. Both function the same. Good audio quality too :) Is it because I run 5.0.1 or that & being Jailbroken or just luck? My Nav/audio head did it's thing where it checks for software updates and it downloaded & installed them as expected.

    Mike
     
  14. Cvk14

    Cvk14 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    37
    4
    New York, NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I've been using pandora via the nav unit and my iPhone 4 (non jailbroken) by enabling tethering. the car's nav unit can then get its connection via the phone, OR by connecting the USB cable, and starting the entune app on the phone, then the car get its internet connection that way.
     
  15. WE0H

    WE0H ^^My garage queen^^

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    3,264
    520
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I have tethering (WiFi Hotspot) also but mine has a on/off switch in the settings. It was off. What IOS do you have? I have a hunch it is the 5.1.1 update that is the issue.

    Mike
     
  16. billidge

    billidge Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    20
    1
    Northern Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    This fixed the problem for me:

    - turn your car on
    - do NOT plug your iPhoneS into the car via the cable
    - turn on the Entune app on your iPhone
    - touch the info button on your console
    - select Bing
    - type in one word like "gas" and then the search button
    - choose the top one suggested, then when you see the call button or map to button, hit the map to (this starts your Bluetooth streaming)
    - then hit the icon that takes you back to the info screen with the 6 choices again
    - select Pandora, give it a few seconds to download, you'll probably see getting updates, then the music will start

    Works EVERY time for me. My dealer showed me this trick. I can't use Pandora or iHeart if my phone is cabled to the car
     
  17. WE0H

    WE0H ^^My garage queen^^

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    3,264
    520
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    What IOS version are you running & is it Jailbroken or not? Stinks you have to do all this stuff to get it to talk to the phone :(

    Mike
     
  18. smurs

    smurs Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    43
    5
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Do you have your phone set up with ATT as a wireless hotspot? This sounds like it would only work if data were working through bluetooth... am I correct?
     
  19. sdplugin

    sdplugin First Time Prius owner

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    21
    6
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I love pandora on my new plugin w entune and was vey frustrated at first because it was so flaky when trying to connect, or buffer a song, etc. I have an HTC EVO 3D...

    Here is what fixed it for me after hours of trying various scenarios:

    From my phone, toggle/turn off bluetooth.

    When I get in the car I toggle Bluetooth back on. This one simple thing gets my Pandora to sync/connect from phone pandora to car pandora every time.

    When I toggle off bluetooth on my phone, the entune service quits listening and stops. Turning on Bluetooth from my phone causes the entune service to start and listen... I believe it is this simple reset of sorts, that gets it working,at least for me.

    Hope this might help some!
     
  20. d2mini

    d2mini Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    534
    106
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    My biggest problem, once I get the entune apps to work on the car, is getting SOUND out of Pandora. Pandora will start up (if the wind is blowing right) but then I won't get any sound even though it says it's playing. I've even left it up long enough to see it change songs. So it definitely seems to be downloading/playing music, but I don't get any sound. I would say this happens to me at least 50% of the time. Anyone else experience this or have a solution?
     
    Jerry Mcl likes this.