1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

PHEV kit on a 2001 prius. Advice needed please

Discussion in 'Prius PHEV Plug-In Modifications' started by glyndwr, Jan 30, 2012.

1. glyndwr

glyndwr Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Hi all,

I live in the UK in south wales, and am considering the purchase of a used 2001 prius with 55000 miles covered.

These cars now sell in the uk for around £2000, and was also considering the install of a PHEV system to aid in the running costs.

With fuel at the moment in the UK at £1.40 per litre, it is time to find an alternative to fuel. Hence my interst in a hybrid with a plug in kit fitted. I am technically qualified, i have a degree in mechanical engineering and a good knowledge of electrics, but very little on electronics.

I can get hold of a Lexus RX450 battery pack (4 batteries in total) 288v dc, as a donor battery system, any help or advice as to other parts / charger required would be very helpull.

My usage is nearly all local roads, journeys of less than 30 miles, rarely getting over 50mph. Most daily journeys less than 10 miles return.

I would hope to do most if not all journeys on full EV mode, therefore taking away the fuel expense.

Additinally, i have a 4kw solar panel roof mounted system so i do generate a large amount of my home electricity too, to help in the total fuel saving.

Thanks in advance for any help given in my quest to get the prius on a plug in system.

best regards, Glyndwr.:)

2. cproaudio

cproaudio Speedlock Overrider

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V