1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Plugin but without adding batteries??

Discussion in 'Prius PHEV Plug-In Modifications' started by kiwibruce, Feb 8, 2009.

1. kiwibruce

kiwibruce Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Stupid question time...
    I am a newbie here but I have searched the forums but never seen anything about this.

Has anyone ever done ( ot thought of doing) a PHEV conversion but just adding a plugin ability for the existing battery.
    The reason I ask is I live in New Zealand so we are fortunate to have the EV button factory installed (Never seen a clear answer why they are not in NA)
    My Scenario.
    I live very close to town, (less than a mile or so) I can easily drive there on EV mode. But If I do that half way home the battery is down to 2 bars and the ICE kicks in and EV mode is disabled until the battery is charged up again.
    Which takes quite a bit of ICE driving or quite a few hills. Which I don't normally do for a few days.
    My wish is to be able to simply charge the battery up to 8 bars to start with.
    Of course I would love a Hymotion style conversion but with the New Zealand Dollar currently worth 50c to the USD it is never going to be affordable down here. So... I look for other ways to get the most 'EV' out of my Prius.

Am I crazy? or has anyone ever thought about this... Tell me they have
    Yes I know, like any PHEV conversion Toyota would dis-own me.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    Bruce

1 person likes this.
  2. nerfer

nerfer A young senior member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    It would have limited appeal because of the short range. It sounds like it would work for you, but I think the market isn't big enough for a 3rd party to introduce the charging hardware & whatever other changes they need to make.