1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Possible Newbie Here - Need Advice About Purchase

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by KelliLynn, Nov 6, 2013.

1. KelliLynn

KelliLynn New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hey Everyone!

I have the opportunity to purchase a 2005 Prius with 74,000 from a local dealership. The previous owner treated this car like a child and did all regular maintenance at a dealership. I am located in Western New York, the car came from Pennsylvania. I will be financing the Prius for probably 5 years. Can I expect the vehicle to last the life of the loan?

2. xpcman

xpcman Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    It's not a good idea to buy a used car with a 5 year loan. I suggest a cheaper car with a 2 or 3 year loan.

3. ETC(SS)

ETC(SS) The OTHER One Percenter.....

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Greetings!
    Welcome Aboard!!
    You only have one post, so you're definitely a newbie...and possibly (probably) a new Prius driver....which is OK.
    Even Danny had a first post. :)

The answer to your question is yes. You can expect an 05 to chug along for another 5 years.
    Normally, I'm not wild about 5 year loans, especially for a 9 year old car however (comma!) this is a very frugal nine year old car, and there are many MANY articles in this forum for DIY maintenance and repair for the G2.

Right now interest rates are VERY low (my wife's Yorkie qualifies for a car loan) and Hybrid resale values are very high, so while there are smarter ways to build credit and drive cheap and green.....there are dumber things you can do as well.

Just don't pay out the nose for the car because it's allegedly a cream-puff, and start saving right now for repairs and maintenance. Learn how to do the maintenance and repair work yourself.
    It's not hard.
    Rednecks do it while drinking beer.