1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

protect confidential contacts;iphone4s;2012 prius 3

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by namlohmot, Jul 8, 2012.

1. namlohmot

namlohmot New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I am a psychologist, and just bought a 2012 Prius 3. I had no trouble pairing my iphone 4s with the car, and then (it seemed suddenly) the car had all my contacts, many of which are confidential. The manual says there's a manage contacts screen where you can delete contacts, but it doesn't seem to be available on my prius (or there's something that should be obvious that I'm not doing). I have unpaired the phone for now, but would like to know how to protect confidential contacts and keep them out of my car. Any tips greatly appreciated. Thanks, Tom

2. cwerdna

cwerdna Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Do you have a Prius v wagon?

3. namlohmot

namlohmot New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    No. Prius 3 hatchback 2012.

4. etobia

etobia Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Just guessing here.....Does the iPhone have a privacy setting or lock setting on contacts? Seems to me the thing can regulate securit on many features.

Does the iPhone have a way to make two lists (one confidential and one not)? Possibly check with Toyota, or someone here, to see if Bluetooth can give you the option which group of contacts to use?

Personally, I'd make a call to Apple because it is the newer of the technologies on privacy features. Then the manual to the Prius.

Another option in the mean time is to delete your phone from the car every time you use it.....this deletes all of the contacts so other drivers can't see your list. While it might seem tedious it would be the most secure method in the meantime.

Good luck.....keep us posted!

5. namlohmot

namlohmot New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model: